Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Nelvis To Be Inducted Into Arkansas Track & Field Hall of Fame Friday

June 2, 2022

JONESBORO, Ark. (6/2/22) – One of the greatest to ever toe the starting line at Arkansas State, four-time All-American and former national champion Sharika Nelvis has been tabbed as part of the 27th class in the Arkansas Track and Field Hall of Fame.

Nelvis will be inducted during a banquet held at 6:30 p.m. on June 3 in the Silver City Ballroom of the Wyndham Riverfront Hotel in North Little Rock, Ark. She joins fellow inductees Chuck Barber (Bald Knob/Ouachita Baptist), Janet Cherobon Bawcom (Kenya/Harding), Allison Dotson (Alma/Oklahoma State), Danny Hazelwood (Carlisle/Central Arkansas), Tori Weeks-Hoggard (Cabot/Arkansas), Lexi Weeks-Jacobus (Cabot/Arkansas) and Carl Lowe (North Little Rock/Wake Forest).

The Memphis, Tenn., native and 2021 A-State Hall of Honor inductee burst onto the scene in Jonesboro and became the Sun Belt Conference’s top track and field athlete both indoors and outdoors. She was the league’s top freshman in 2011 and won a staggering 24 conference crowns in the sprints, hurdles and long jump between 2011 and 2014 – 13 indoors and 11 outdoors.

As a senior in 2014, Nelvis won NCAA championships in the 60m hurdles indoors (7.93) and 100m hurdles outdoors (12.52) en route to winning the Honda Sports Award for the nation’s best collegiate female track and field athlete. She also finished as a finalist for the prestigious Bowerman, regarded as the “Heisman Trophy of collegiate track and field.”

Nelvis began her professional career in 2015, losing her first race but winning her next seven and entering the national outdoor championships as one of the favorites. She won her first U.S. title in the women’s 60m hurdles (7.70) at the 2018 USA Indoor Track and Field Championships, where she set the NACAC and American record while also earning a spot on Team USA at the 2018 Birmingham World Championships in England.

Tickets for the banquet are $50 per person ($52 if purchased by credit card) or $500 for a table of 10. Checks should be made payable to ATFHF. Orders should be mailed to Leon White, 352 Jenni Leigh Dr., Austin, AR 72007. For ticket questions, email [email protected] Tickets may be picked up at the ATFHF registration desk after 5 p.m. June 3.


For the latest on the A-State track and field program, follow @AStateTrack on Twitter and @Arkansas_State_Track on Instagram, while also liking the team’s Facebook page at

2022 – Sharika Nelvis
2019 – Anthony Hampton
2011 – Morry Sanders
2010 – Jeff Hartwig, Monika Klebe
2008 – Dariel Johnson
2007 – Jay Flanagan
1997 – Al Joyner
1996 – Thomas Hill
1995 – Guy Kochel, Earl Bell

Print Friendly Version

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

Busy Week Set For A-State Track and Field

Story Links Live Results (Texas Relays) JONESBORO, Ark. (3/23/22) – Arkansas State's track and field teams are set for a busy week of competition, with action spread across three meets Read more

A-State Begins Outdoor Season At Louisiana Classics

Story Links Live Results JONESBORO, Ark. (3/17/22) – Reigning Sun Belt Conference outdoor track and field champions begin their run to a title defense on Friday, traveling to Acadiana for Read more

A-State’s Pascoe Primed for Steeplechase Semis in Eugene

Story Links Watch Live (ESPN2) Live Results JONESBORO, Ark. (6/7/22) – Bennett Pascoe is set to represent the Arkansas State track and field program for the second consecutive season, competing Read more

A-State Posts Eight Personal Bests At Louisville

Story Links Results (PDF) LOUISVILLE, Ky. (1/29/22) – Eight Arkansas State track and field athletes posted personal-best marks on Saturday at the PNC Lenny Lyles Invitational, including six from distance Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest