Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Honors College 2021-2022 Graduating Seniors to be Recognized

May 2, 2022


JONESBORO – The Honors College at Arkansas State University will host the 13th annual Honors Recognition Ceremony and Reception Friday, May 6, at 4 p.m. in the Cooper Alumni Center, 2600 Alumni Blvd.

A group of 143 graduating Honors students will be recognized in the company of their parents, families, guests and university dignitaries. Graduation distinctions for each student are listed below.

Graduating seniors Marti Jo Boren of Sherwood and Beau Belcher of Benton will make remarks on behalf of their Honors peers at the ceremony.

In addition, the Honors Professor of the Year 2022 will be announced. Honors students nominate professors and vote to select the recipient.

There are three distinctions in graduating from the Honors College — Graduating in University Honors, Graduating in Honors, and earning the Honors Certificate.

Graduating in University Honors

Those designated ‘Graduating in University Honors’ have successfully defended an Honors senior thesis, completed a minimum of 24 credit hours in Honors coursework, and are graduating with a 3.50 or higher cumulative grade point average. This distinction is recognized on their diplomas and academic transcripts.  These students also receive a gold Honors medallion and recognition certificate.

Those graduating in University Honors are:

Seth Joslin of Austin, Beau Belcher, Jared Hastings, and Taylor Wilson all of Benton, Grant Dawson of East End, Alyson Nichols of Jonesboro, Noah Haynes of Little Rock, Brogeon Walraven of Malvern, Samuel Harris of Paragould, Marti Jo Boren of Sherwood, Alecea Paige Rathbun of Trumann, Leyandra Snyder of Boise, Idaho, Sophia Oury of Gilberts, Ill., Erin Nicholas of Davenport, Iowa, Emily Mitchell of Southaven, Miss., Jolee Laughary of West Plains, Mo., and Charleigh Callahan of Atoka, Tenn.

Graduating in Honors

Students ‘Graduating in Honors’ have completed a minimum of 18 credit hours in Honors coursework and are graduating with a 3.50 or higher cumulative grade point average.  This distinction is recognized on their diplomas and their academic transcripts. These students also receive a silver Honors medallion and recognition certificate.

Those graduating in Honors are:

Cameron Rhoden of Alexander, Allison Batson and Leanna Van both of Batesville, MaKayla Holliman of Bauxite, Jana Jacobs of Benton, Hayli Fendley of Bismarck, Jessica Stevens of Black Rock, Bailey Coles of Brookland, John Dellorto and Madalyn Miller both of Bryant, Olivia Ford of Conway, Will Scobey of Corning, Jenna McCullar of Etowah, Anna Chaplain of Fisher, Angelica Ginn-Mitchell of Glencoe, Kamryn Alkire and Ellie Mayberry both of Hensley, Harrison Bruner of Highland, Sierra Light of Hoxie, Morgan Hibbard-Gregg of Jacksonville, Chandler Brigham, Kathrine Davis, Aaron Dent, Wesley Handwork, Abbigail Hicks, Madeline Holt, Kate Islas, Cecily Long, Parker Meeks, Kelsea Pennington, Kaitlin Ponder, Zachary Proctor, Jordan Rogers, Amelia Singh, Jackson St. Pierre, Kristin Steimel, Carmela Unnold Cofre, Jonathan White, and Katrina White all of Jonesboro.

Others are Kristan McDonald of Judsonia, Sydney Lane of Keiser, Kayli Schwantz of Lexa, Frances Bollinger, Katie Little, Aamiyah McFadden, and Mihye Walker all of Little Rock, Reed Middleton of Marianna, Alexa Chiolino of Maumelle, Mary Dunn of McGehee, Victoria Brownhill of McRae, Emma Jackson of Newport, Benjamin Hall and Anna McMillian both of North Little Rock, Holly Blair Benson, Lauren Hendrix, Dean MacDonald, Katherine McCrary, Derek Shollenbarger, and Justin Wilson all of Paragould, Joel Clayton Rogers of Pine Bluff, Brittany Kunkel of Poughkeepsie, Ashton Archer of Prattsville, Rachel Jines of Ravenden, Blake White of Roland, and Madison Hewitt Millikin of Rosie.

Also graduating in Honors are Lauren Douell, Jewell Duncan, and Henry Nguyen all of Searcy, Heath Alexander, Anna Handloser, and Logan Mitchell all of Sheridan, Sydney McCord and Alexandra Nichols both of Sherwood, Brittany Pharis of Tyronza, Megan Atkins and Rachel Blocker both of Vilonia, Kelly Lee of Walnut Ridge, Ann Marie Covington and Hannah Kline both of Ward, Megan Knowling of Vernon Rockville, Conn., Ariel Kaylee Jones of Corinth, Miss., Mackenzie Dodds of Hernando, Miss., Zachary Lancaster of Malden, Mo., Morgan Hogsett of Willow Springs, Mo., Jacob Clontz of Leicester, N.C., Kayli Taylor of Collierville, Tenn., Kylie Adams of Jackson, Tenn., My Ni Van of Memphis, Tenn., and Amine Ghoorchiyani of Tokyo, Japan.

Students earning the Honors Certificate

Those earning an Honors Certificate have completed a minimum of 18 credit hours in Honors coursework and are graduating with a 3.00 or higher cumulative grade point average. These students are presented with a certificate in recognition of their accomplishment.

Those earning the Honors Certificate are:

Carmen Waugh of Batesville, Zachary Spann of Bauxite, Alyssa Rowland of Benton, Emily Skaggs of Brookland, Dhyan Thacker of Bryant, Harold Laws of Carlisle, Brittney McCay of Cherry Valley, Morgan Blankenship of Crossett, Carson Cannon of Hatfield, Kara Blankenship of Hazen, Katie Ashing and Alitza Cabibi-Wilkin both of Hot Springs, Marlie Hufstedler of Imboden, Alexandra Gibson, Christian Martillo, Melissa Palumbo, and Madison Powell all of Jonesboro, Caitlyn Hamby of Judsonia, Bryce Eckerd, Kylie Eckerd, and Emma Minden all of Little Rock.

Aso earning the Honors Certificate are Ethan Underhill of Marion, Courtney Winters of North Little Rock, Tryniti Garred, Braden Hatley, and Austin Mitchell all of Paragould, Jesse Paslay and Whitney Warden both of Searcy, Joshua Householder and Guy Lemmons both of Walnut Ridge, Natalie Dumas of Northport, Ala., Leah Ballin of Advance, Mo., Colin Schlitt of Cape Girardeau, Mo., Trenton Thompson of Senath, Mo., Addison Nelson of Steele, Mo., Heidi Hauptman of Durant, Okla., and Caitlin Watts of Humboldt, Tenn.


Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

University Community Mourns Passing of Football Legend Larry Lacewell

05/18/2022 JONESBORO – Larry Lacewell, former Director of Athletics and winningest head football coach in Arkansas State history, passed away Wednesday, May 18, at the age of 85. Inducted into Read more

Red Wolves Drop Thursday Contest at ULM

Next Game: at ULM 5/20/2022 | 6:00 PM ESPN+ FM Newstalk 102.1/KBTM-AM 1230 May. 20 (Fri) / 6:00 PM at ULM MONROE, La. (5/19/22) – Arkansas State baseball could not overcome Read more

Five-Run Eighth Propels Red Wolves Past Illinois State

JONESBORO, Ark. (3/4/22) – A five-run eighth inning propelled the Arkansas State baseball team to a dramatic 8-6 victory over Illinois State Friday night at Tomlinson Stadium-Kell Field All five Read more

Lecture-Concert Series to present Rising Stars Fife and Drum Band, May 21

05/16/2022 JONESBORO – The Lecture-Concert Series at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will host the Rising Stars Fife and Drum Band in concert on Saturday, May 21, at 2 p.m. Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest