Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Faculty Achievement Award Winners Recognized at Honors Convocation

April 13, 2022


JONESBORO – The six recipients of the 2021-22 Faculty Achievement Awards were announced during the annual Faculty Honors Convocation, a highlight of Convocation of Scholars. The event returned to the Grand Hall of Fowler Center, following two years in an online format.

“We truly value our faculty for their teaching, research, service and advising,” said Dr. Alan Utter, provost and executive vice chancellor for Academic Affairs and Research. “You have exceeded expectations in all of these core responsibilities, and we would not be where we are today without your commitment and dedication.”

The awards, determined through a campus nomination and committee review process, are for significant and meritorious achievement in the respective categories and include monetary rewards.

Chancellor’s Medal for Research and Creative Activities: Dr. Elizabeth Hood

The recipient of the Chancellor’s Medal for Research and Creative Activities is Dr. Elizabeth Hood, Lipscomb Distinguished Professor of Agriculture. Provided by the Beck Foundation and Distinguished Alumnus Buddy Beck, this is the highest honor an A-State faculty member may receive. Hood, who has served on faculty since 2004, is a highly accomplished senior scientist. Dr. Michele Merritt, associate professor of philosophy, was a finalist.

Teaching Award, Tenure Track: Dr. H. Steve Leslie

Dr. H. Steve Leslie, assistant professor of business communication, received the Excellence in Teaching, Tenure-Track, Award. Leslie’s nominators noted his contributions to student retention in his college, where he is regularly lauded for his teaching prowess by both colleagues and students. Other finalists were Dr. Tonja Fillippino, associate professor of mid-level education, Dr. Sarah Labovitz, associate professor of music, and Todd Sanders, assistant professor of occupational therapy.

Emerging Faculty Scholar Award: Dr. Rasoul Narimani

The Emerging Faculty Scholar Award recognizes a pre-tenure faculty member for exceptional scholarly achievement. The recipient, Dr. Rasoul Narimani, assistant professor of electrical engineering, was commended for his peer-reviewed publications in high impact journals, a grant from the National Science Foundation, and diligence in promoting student research. The other finalist was Dr. Eric Scudamore, associate professor of exercise science.

Professional Service Award: Dr. Zahid Hossain

Dr. Zahid Hossain, associate professor of civil engineering, received the Excellence in Professional Service Award. Hossain was recognized for the significant positive impact he has made with the development and progress of the civil engineering program, his college, and its stakeholders, including professional communities. Dr. Amanda Mohler, assistant professor of occupational therapy, and Dr. Ed Salo, associate professor of history, were finalists.

Teaching Award, Non-Tenure Track: Dr. Alexandr Sokolov

Dr. Alexandr Sokolov, assistant professor of engineering management, was recognized with the Excellence in Teaching, Non-Tenure Track, Award. Sokolov brings a wealth of practical experience to the classroom, where he helps students learn to demonstrate their understanding of planning, organizing and problem-solving skills that provide value-added services in technical or management positions. Dr. Steven Riley, instructor in music, was a finalist.

Excellence in Advising Award: Andrea Brown

Andrea Brown, assistant professor of occupational therapy, received the Excellence in Advising Award.  Brown was commended for her ability to connect with students at all levels, from incoming students, and their families, to those entering professional practice, and for developing these individuals through her dedicated efforts as a faculty member. The other finalist was Dr. Tonja Fillippino, associate professor of mid-level education.

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

Chancellor Issues Message Regarding Updated Mask Policy

JONESBORO -- Chancellor Kelly Damphousse issued the following email to the campus community today, removing all mandatory usage of masks effective Thursday, March 3.The chancellor's previous messages about our campus Read more

Nursing and Health Professions Recognizes Top 2021-22 Graduating Students

05/20/2022 JONESBORO – The School of Nursing and several departments in the College of Nursing and Health Professions at Arkansas State University have announced their most outstanding graduating students, according Read more

Sixteen Red Wolves Set for NCAA West Prelims

Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (5/24/22) – Sixteen members of the Arkansas State track and field teams are set to compete for coveted national-championship bids, beginning Wednesday at the NCAA West Read more

UPD to Receive Stipend, Pay Upgrade

05/23/2022 JONESBORO – Police officers at Arkansas State University will receive the same $5,000 one-time stipend as other law enforcement officials in the state, as well as a new pay Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest