Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Engineering and Computer Science Awards Presented during Convocation of Scholars

April 9, 2022


JONESBORO – The College of Engineering and Computer Science at Arkansas State University congratulated its most outstanding graduating students during Convocation of Scholars, according to Dr. Abhijit Bhattacharyya, dean of the college.

Kayden Boyle of Jonesboro received the Chancellor’s Scholar Award as the college’s graduating senior with the highest overall grade point average. He will graduate with a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering.

The recipients of the 4.0 Scholar Award are Fared Farag of Saudi Arabia, a computer science major, and Boyle, in engineering. The Chancellor’s Scholar is the 4.0 student with the most credit hours taken at A-State.

Departmental awards were also presented to the top graduating senior within each of the academic degree programs. These awards include the Citizenship Award and the Outstanding Student Award.

The Citizenship Award is presented a student within each of five disciplines who demonstrates great leadership, character, departmental and community involvement by joining discipline specific clubs and student organizations.

The recipients are Bryce Wilkerson of Bryant, Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering (BSEE); Zane Smith of Swifton, Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering (BSME); Riley Cornett of Locust Grove, Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering (BSCE); Amine Ghoorchiyani of Japan, Bachelor of Science (BS) in computer science, and Joel Rogers of Pine Bluff, BS in engineering technology.

The Outstanding Student Award is given to the individual with the highest grade-point average within each of the six undergraduate degree plans. The recipients are: Madison Allgeier of Greenville, Ind., (BSEE); Kayden Boyle (BSME), McKenzie Cornell of San Bernardino, Calif., (BSCE), Fared Farag, BS in computer science, Alyson Nichols of Jonesboro, BA in computer science, and Jackson Clayton of Jonesboro, BS in engineering technology.

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

University Community Mourns Passing of Football Legend Larry Lacewell

05/18/2022 JONESBORO – Larry Lacewell, former Director of Athletics and winningest head football coach in Arkansas State history, passed away Wednesday, May 18, at the age of 85. Inducted into Read more

Red Wolves Drop Thursday Contest at ULM

Next Game: at ULM 5/20/2022 | 6:00 PM ESPN+ FM Newstalk 102.1/KBTM-AM 1230 May. 20 (Fri) / 6:00 PM at ULM MONROE, La. (5/19/22) – Arkansas State baseball could not overcome Read more

Five-Run Eighth Propels Red Wolves Past Illinois State

JONESBORO, Ark. (3/4/22) – A five-run eighth inning propelled the Arkansas State baseball team to a dramatic 8-6 victory over Illinois State Friday night at Tomlinson Stadium-Kell Field All five Read more

Lecture-Concert Series to present Rising Stars Fife and Drum Band, May 21

05/16/2022 JONESBORO – The Lecture-Concert Series at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will host the Rising Stars Fife and Drum Band in concert on Saturday, May 21, at 2 p.m. Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest