Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Theatre Brings Production of Musical ‘Godspell’ to Stage

April 7, 2019


JONESBORO – Arkansas State University’s Department of Theatre continues the 2018-19 season with “Godspell,” a musical originally conceived and directed by John-Michael Tebelak with music and new lyrics by Stephen Schwartz.

Performances are Friday and Saturday, April 12-13, and Tuesday and Wednesday, April 16-17, at 7:30 p.m. in Drama Theatre, located in Fowler Center on the university campus.  A matinee performance will be Sunday, April 14, at 2 p.m.

“Godspell,” based upon the Gospel of Matthew, uses music, dance, comedy and magic to illustrate the parables of Jesus Christ, as well as the story of the last supper and crucifixion. The original production of “Godspell” enjoyed over 2,700 performances in its New York run and has remained one of the world’s most beloved musicals for more than 40 years.

The cast includes theatre majors Davis Campbell of Batesville, Tinah Carter of Jonesboro, Caelon Colbert of Little Rock, Abbey Cooper of Russellville, Trenton McKenzie of White Hall, Whitley Fore-Newman of Harrisburg, Joshua Pryor of Clinton, Hayley Scott of North Little Rock, Deaa Simms of West Memphis, Kayley Shettles of Jacksonville, and Kyler Wade of Batesville. Abbey Cooper also serves as dance captain.

The musical is directed by Marc Williams, department co-hair and assistant professor of theatre. Bethania Baray Harrison, director of opera theatre and instructor of voice, serves as musical director. Collaborative pianist Emily Trapp Jenkins is the rehearsal accompanist and conductor.

Assistant directors are theatre majors Katelyn Stanton of Trumann and Precious McCullough of Clarendon.  Choreography is by Brianna Larson, instructor of dance. Kassidy Ratz, a senior psychology major and theatre minor from Beebe, is the associate choreographer. 

Scenic design is by Jeff McLaughlin, assistant professor of theatre. Costume design is by Claire Abernathy, associate professor of theatre. Lighting and sound design is by Caisa Sanburg, assistant professor of theatre. Makeup design is by Amy Faughn, a junior theatre and psychology double major from Jonesboro.

The stage manager is Claire Thomas of Batesville. Assistant stage managers are Reilly Heffer of Little Rock and Michaela Partridge from Leola. The props master is Bryce Moore of White Hall. The master electrician is Eli Webb of Jonesboro. The house manager is Lauren Wilcox of Jonesboro.

The sound board operator is sophomore Elizabeth Escobedo of Russellville, and the light board operator is Grace Dial of Paragould. Spotlight operators will be Jacey Washington of Batesville and Cody Preston from Jonesboro. Production audio technician is Clay Bures of Cabot.

Wardrobe crew includes Leah Brown from Jonesboro, Abigail Gray of Jonesboro, Carson Horton from Batesville, T Murphy of Jonesboro, Youssef Sheroubi of Cairo, Egypt, and Madison Stewart of Trumann. The publicist is David Norris from Southside. Thomas, Heffer, Partridge, Webb, Wilcox, Escobedo, Dial, Preston, Brown, Gray, Horton, Stewart and Norris are theatre majors.

Tickets for “Godspell” can be purchased at or by calling the A-State Box Office Monday-Friday from 8:30-5 p.m. at (870) 972-2781. Tickets are $12-17. Groups of 10 or more should call the box office regarding group sales.

                                                                 # # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

Proposals Invited for Virtual 2021 Johnny Cash Heritage Festival

JONESBORO – A call for proposals has been announced by Arkansas State University Heritage Sites and The Historic Dyess Colony: Johnny Cash Boyhood Home for presentations as part of the Read more

Sports Medicine Golf Event Scheduled for June 21

Story Links Registration Information JONESBORO, Ark. (5/13/21) – The 22nd annual Arkansas State University Sports Medicine Golf Scramble will be played Monday, June 21, at the Jonesboro Country Club, and Read more

Engineering and Computer Science Presents Top Student Awards for 2020-21

05/11/2021 JONESBORO —  Eleven students in the College of Engineering and Computer Science at Arkansas State University were recognized during Convocation of Scholars as the most outstanding graduating students, according Read more

Sodoma and Cloud Named to United Soccer Coaches All-Southeast Region Teams

Story Links United Soccer Coaches All-Region Teams JONESBORO, Ark. (5/12/21) – Leading the Arkansas State women's soccer team to its first regular season conference title, forward Sarah Sodoma and defender Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest