Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Seven Schools Involved in Artificial Intelligence Campus Demonstrations

February 22, 2019


Artificial Intelligence demonstration showcase participants
Artificial Intelligence (AI) Campus Demonstration Showcase at ASU System Office in Little Rock

LITTLE ROCK – Representatives of seven Arkansas universities came together Friday to discuss and demonstrate their work at the Artificial Intelligence (AI) Campus Demonstration Showcase.

The showcase took place at the Arkansas State University System Office in Little Rock, with demonstrations during the morning and afternoon.

“The AI Campus has brought students, postdoctoral fellows and junior faculty together in teams with coaches across the state, with each of the projects starting at the frontier of the artificial intelligence discipline,” according to Dr. Xiuzhen Huang, director of AI Campus, professor of computer science at Arkansas State, and Arkansas Research Alliance Fellow.

The AI Campus represents seven Arkansas institutions, with 30 students in the first class.  The participants are from Arkansas State University, Arkansas Tech University, Philander Smith College, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, University of Arkansas at Little Rock and University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff.

The class has been meeting weekly with AI coaches while working on projects relevant to current industrial and research-based needs.  Some of the projects involve medical imaging, natural language processing, genomics, agricultural data analysis, web service systems, and self-driving cars/transportation.  Project descriptions are available online.

The student teams demonstrated their projects at this event for institutional representatives and news media.

By institution, here are the participants in the AI Campus project teams:

Arkansas State University: Ariful Hasan, John Clay Heern, Tomonori Yoshino, Jacob Goodwin, Hayden  Joyce, Brandon Cole and Asraf Siddiquee.

Arkansas Tech University: Reza Hamidi and Zeng Kaiman.

Philander Smith College: Oluwafunmilayo Adediwura, Timothy Itodo and Timi Adebesi.

UAMS: Mahanazuddin Syed, Sohrabuddin Syed, Matthew Windsor and Kulsoom Shaikh.

UA Little Rock: Brian Delavan and Xiangwen (Evan) Liu.

UAPB: Laura Hildreth, Bradford House, Tyler Johnson, Kennedi Brown, Trenton Sudduth, Jordan Alfred  and Malik Gatson.

University of Arkansas: Wei Zhou, Laxmi Poudel, Alejandro Torrico, Molla Hafizur Rahman and Matthew Brownell.

# # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

A-State Advanced Physical Therapy Women’s Health Residency Granted Candidacy

06/15/2021 JONESBORO — Arkansas State University advanced physical therapy women’s health residency program has been granted candidacy, according to notification from the American Board of Physical Therapy Residency and Fellowship Read more

Caitland Smith Opens Up #RoadToTokyo For A-State

Story Links EUGENE, Ore. (6/18/21) – Caitland Smith opened up the U.S. Olympic Track and Field Team Trials for six athletes associated with the Arkansas State track and field program Read more

Chancellor Damphousse Elected President of Sun Belt Conference

06/16/2021 JONESBORO – Sun Belt Commissioner Keith Gill announced Tuesday that Arkansas State University Chancellor Kelly Damphousse was unanimously elected to serve a two-year term as the President of the Read more

Debate Team Captures Pi Kappa Delta JV Parliamentary National Championship

06/16/2021 JONESBORO — Arkansas State University’s debate team stepped up to win the Pi Kappa Delta Junior Varsity Parliamentary National Championship at the largest national tournament of the season. The victory gives Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest