Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Preview: New Mexico Collegiate Classic

February 6, 2020

JONESBORO, Ark. (2/6/20) – As the calendar turns to February and the Sun Belt Indoor Championships draw closer, a strong challenge awaits the Arkansas State track and field teams this weekend at the New Mexico Collegiate Classic.

The meet will be held at the Albuquerque Convention Center, approximately a mile above sea level and the site of the 2020 NCAA Indoor Championships, and features multiple nationally-ranked opponents as well as one Sun Belt foe.

On the women’s side, A-State will face athletes from third-ranked defending national champion Arkansas, seventh-ranked Kentucky, 12th-ranked host New Mexico and 23rd-ranked Texas Tech. The men will take on competitors from No. 15 Kentucky, No. 21 Texas Tech and No. 22 UCLA. Alabama and Arizona State, among many others, also will compete against the Red Wolves.

Action begins at 4 p.m. CT with the women’s weight throw, featuring A-State throwers Evangelynn Harris, Chastery Fuamatu and Grace Flowers. The first track event for the Red Wolves will be freshmen Jaela Hollie and Kyndall Hudson in the women’s unseeded 200m.

On Saturday, the throwers will again kick things off with the women’s shot put at 10:30 a.m., with Imani Udoumana and Camryn Newton-Smith taking to the straightaway in the women’s 60m hurdles qualifying at 11 a.m.

New Mexico Collegiate Classic
Dates: Feb. 7-8, 2020
Location: Albuquerque, N.M. (Albuquerque Convention Center)
Meet Coverage: Live Results | Live Stream (FloTrack [$]) | Heat Sheets | Meet Schedule
Notable Opponents: Alabama, Appalachian State, Arizona State, No. 3 Arkansas (Women), No. 15 (Men)/No. 7 (Women) Kentucky, No. 12 (Women) New Mexico, No. 21 (Men)/No. 23 (Women) Texas Tech, No. 22 (Men) UCLA

For the latest on the A-State track and field program, follow @AStateTrack on Twitter and @Arkansas_State_Track on Instagram, while also liking the team’s Facebook page at

A-State’s Schedule at the 2020 New Mexico Collegiate Classic
FRIDAY, FEB. 7 (All Times Central)
Women’s Weight Throw (4 p.m. CT)Grace Flowers, Chastery Fuamatu, Evangelynn Harris
Women’s Long Jump (4:15 p.m.)Johnaya Givens, Jaela Hollie, Arabriaun Mack, Camryn Newton-Smith
Women’s Pole Vault (Unseeded) (4:30 p.m.) Lauren Beauchamp, Nada Buntic, Callie Hicks
Men’s High Jump (5 p.m.) Hayden Hampton, Frank Massey
Women’s High Jump (5 p.m.)Megan Knowling, Sydney Lane, Camryn Newton-Smith
Men’s Long Jump (5 p.m.)Coleton Clifft, Carter Shell, Courtney Thomas
Women’s Unseeded 200m (5:30 p.m.)Jaela Hollie, Kyndall Hudson
Women’s Unseeded 400m (7:25 p.m.)Kyndall Hudson
Men’s Weight Throw (8 p.m.)Eron Carter, Aimar Palma Simo
Men’s 200m (8:25 p.m.)Chris Hill, Jermie Walker
Women’s 200m (8:50 p.m.)Briana Hardiman

Women’s Shot Put (10:30 a.m.)
Grace Flowers, Chastery Fuamatu, Evangelynn Harris, Camryn Newton-Smith, Babette Vandeput
Women’s 60m Hurdles Qualifying (11 a.m.)Camryn Newton-Smith, Imani Udoumana (top 8 times advance)
Women’s 60m Hurdles Prelims (12:10 p.m.) – Newton-Smith, Udoumana (if advance) *8 advance: heat winners + next 5 times*
Women’s 60m Qualifying (11:15 a.m.)
Jaela Hollie (top 8 times advance)
Women’s Triple Jump (11:30 a.m.)Johnaya Givens, Megan Knowling, Arabriaun Mack, Imani Udoumana
Men’s 60m Qualifying (11:40 a.m.)Courtney Thomas (top 8 times advance)
Men’s Triple Jump (12 p.m.)Carter Shell, Courtney Thomas
Men’s 60m Hurdles Prelims (12:30 p.m.)Hayden Hampton, Ke’Von Holder, Amari James *8 advance: Heat winners + next 4 times*
Men’s 60m Prelims (12:40 p.m.)Chris Hill *8 advance: Heat winners + next 5 times*
Women’s 60m Prelims (12:50 p.m.)Jaela Hollie (if advances)
Men’s 60m Hurdles Final (1:35 p.m.) – Hampton, Holder, James (if advance)
Women’s 60m Hurdles Final (1:45 p.m.) – Newton-Smith, Udoumana (if advance)
Men’s 400m (1:55 p.m.)Kobey Hill, Jermie Walker
Men’s Shot Put (2 p.m.)Eron Carter, Hayden Hampton
Women’s 400m (2:10 p.m.)Briana Hardiman
Men’s 800m (2:40 p.m.)Handre Jonker, Darrian Lockett, Gregoire Saury, Seth Waters
Women’s 800m (2:55 p.m.)McKenzie Cornell
Men’s 4x400m Relay (3:10 p.m.)
Women’s 4x400m Relay (3:30 p.m.)

Print Friendly Version

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

A-State Track & Field Teams, Athletes Recognized For Academics

Story Links USTFCCCA Release JONESBORO, Ark. (7/22/21) – Success both in competition and in the classroom continue to be hallmarks of the Arkansas State track and field programs. Both the Read more

A-State’s Pascoe, Vandeput Tabbed CoSIDA Academic All-District

Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (7/15/21) – A pair of Arkansas State track and field standouts were honored for their success in competition and in the classroom on Thursday, as A-State's Read more

A-State’s Patchell Signs New Three-Year Contract

Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (7/13/21) – Thirteen-time Sun Belt Conference Coach of the Year Jim Patchell has agreed to a new three-year contract to lead the Arkansas State track and Read more

Vandeput Takes Discus Gold At Belgian Championships

Story Links BRUSSELS (6/27/21) – Babette Vandeput, a two-time Sun Belt Conference champion and Arkansas State track and field alumna, topped the podium once again on Sunday at the Belgian Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest