Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Preview: Indoor Gorilla Classic

February 13, 2020

JONESBORO, Ark. (2/13/20) – One meet separates the Arkansas State track and field teams from the 2020 Sun Belt Conference Indoor Championships, with the Red Wolves heading back to Pittsburg, Kansas, for the Indoor Gorilla Classic Feb. 14-15.

Action at the Robert W. Plaster Center begins Friday at 2 p.m. CT with the open section of the men’s high jump, the men’s long jump and men’s weight throw, with the first track event – 60m hurdles qualifying – slated for 4 p.m. Reigning Sun Belt Women’s Field Athlete of the Week Camryn Newton-Smith will begin her weekend at 4 p.m. in the women’s long jump, an event in which she posted a career-best mark of 6.01m (19-8.75) last weekend at the New Mexico Collegiate Classic. Friday’s events also include A-State’s first distance medley relay of the year, and will wrap up with the women’s 5000m.

On Saturday, the men’s 3000m opens the day at 11:05 a.m., while the first field event slated for a noon start with the men’s triple jump. The first women’s field event will feature Callie Hicks in the women’s pole vault invitational section at 3 p.m., with the Red Wolves wrapping up the meet at 4:25 p.m. in the women’s 800m.

Indoor Gorilla Classic
Dates: Feb. 14-15, 2020
Location: Pittsburg, Kansas (Robert W. Plaster Center – Harvey Dean Track)
Meet Coverage: Live Results | Heat Sheets | Meet Schedule
Notable Opponents (Division I): Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Kansas City, Missouri State, Nebraska, Oral Roberts, SIU-Edwardsville, Tulsa, Wichita State

For the latest on the A-State track and field program, follow @AStateTrack on Twitter and @Arkansas_State_Track on Instagram, while also liking the team’s Facebook page at

A-State’s Schedule at the 2020 Indoor Gorilla Classic
FRIDAY, FEB. 14 (All Times CT)
Men’s High Jump [Open] (2 p.m.)Hayden Hampton
Men’s Long Jump (2 p.m.)Coleton Clifft, Courtney Thomas, Carter Shell
Men’s Weight Throw (2 p.m.) – Eron Carter
Women’s Pole Vault [Open] (3 p.m.)Lauren Beauchamp, Nada Buntic
Men’s 60m Hurdles Qualifying (4 p.m.)Ty Graser (Top 16 times advance)
Women’s 60m Hurdles Qualifying (4:20 p.m.) Allie Hensley (Top 16 times advance)
Men’s 60m Qualifying (4:35 p.m.)Courtney Thomas
Women’s 60m Qualifying (5 p.m.)Camryn Newton-Smith (Top 16 times advance)
Women’s Long Jump (5 p.m.) – Johnaya Givens, Camryn Newton-Smith, Arabriaun Mack
Women’s Weight Throw (5 p.m.)Grace Flowers, Chastery Fuamatu, Evangelynn Harris, Hannah Higgins
Men’s Distance Medley Relay (5:30 p.m.)
Men’s Pole Vault [Open] (5:30 p.m.)Ty Graser
Women’s Distance Medley Relay (5:45 p.m.)
Women’s 200m (7:25 p.m.)Jonae Cook, Osereme Erewele
Women’s 5000m (8:45 p.m.)Sarah Trammel, Elizabeth Gillette

Men’s 3000m (11:05 a.m.)Bennett Pascoe, Coleman Wilson, Ethan Mychajlonka, John Carder
Women’s 3000m (11:30 a.m.)Sophie Leathers, Madison Grimm, Elizabeth Martin
Men’s 60m Hurdles Prelims (Noon)Ke’Von Holder, Amari James, Hayden Hampton, Ty Graser [if advances]
Men’s Triple Jump (Noon)Courtney Thomas, Carter Shell
Men’s Shot Put (Noon)Eron Carter, Eric Williams
Women’s 60m Hurdles Prelims (12:15 p.m.)Imani Udoumana, Rainee Bowers, Alexis Woodall, Allie Hensley [if advances from qualifying]
Men’s 60m Prelims (12:30 p.m.)Chris Hill, Courtney Thomas [if advances from qualifying]
Women’s 60m Prelims (12:40 p.m.)Osereme Erewele, Jonae Cook, Camryn Newton-Smith [if advances from qualifying]
Men’s 60m Hurdles Final (1:30 p.m.)
Women’s Pole Vault [Invite] (1:30 p.m.)Callie Hicks
Women’s 60m Hurdles Final (1:35 p.m.)
Men’s 60m Final (1:40 p.m.)
Women’s 60m Final (1:45 p.m.)
Men’s Mile (1:50 p.m.)
Coleman Wilson, John Carder, Garrett Becker, Seth Waters, Gregoire Saury
Women’s Mile (2:25 p.m.)Elizabeth Gillette, Sarah Trammel, Sophie Leathers, Madison Grimm, McKenzie Cornell, Sammy Brainard
Women’s High Jump [Invite] (2:30 p.m.) – Camryn Newton-Smith, Megan Knowling, Allie Hensley, Sydney Lane
Women’s Triple Jump (3 p.m.)Megan Knowling, Arabriaun Mack, Johnaya Givens, Imani Udoumana
Women’s Shot Put (3 p.m.) – Camryn Newton-Smith, Chastery Fuamatu, Babette Vandeput, Evangelynn Harris, Grace Flowers
Men’s 400m (3 p.m.)Daidren Davis, Kobey Hill
Women’s 400m (3:30 p.m.)Blaique Webster
Men’s Pole Vault [Invite] (3:30 p.m.)Matthew Keown
Men’s 800m (4 p.m.)Alejandro Vargas, Darrian Lockett
Women’s 800m (4:25 p.m.)Emily Efurd, Elizabeth Martin, Kayla Wade, Pauline Meyer,

Print Friendly Version

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related Articles

A-State Track & Field Teams’, Athletes’ Academic Success Recognized

Story Links USTFCCCA Releases JONESBORO, Ark. (7/16/20) – Arkansas State's men's and women's track and field teams, as well as four athletes, earned USTFCCCA All-Academic honors Thursday. The A-State men Read more

Newton-Smith Named NCAA Indoor All-American

Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (5/26/20) – While the season ended just prior to the start of the 2020 NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships, the USTFCCCA announced on Tuesday that Read more

Preview: 2020 Sun Belt Indoor Championships

Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (2/23/20) – After completing a stellar regular season, the Arkansas State men's and women's track and field teams will head to Birmingham, Alabama, for the fourth Read more

Red Wolves Finish Strong At Indoor Gorilla Classic

Story Links PITTSBURG, Kan. (2/15/20) – Arkansas State track and field wrapped up its final tune-up ahead of the 2020 Sun Belt Indoor Championships on Saturday at the Indoor Gorilla Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest