Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Phi Beta Lambda Continues Win Streak In State Competition

Written by Press Release

April 24, 2018

Phi Beta Lambda Continues Win Streak In State Competition
JONESBORO – Arkansas State University’s Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) organization continued a hot streak of winners by picking up 73 awards at the 2018 Arkansas State PBL Leadership Conference competition held recently in Little Rock. Thirty-four students are eligible to compete at the Phi Beta Lambda National Leadership Conference, June 23-26, in Baltimore. A-State’s representatives surpassed last year’s total 65 winners. The PBL group has had strong showings each year in both state and national competitions. “Every year the students not only meet, but greatly surpass my expectations for them in competition,” said Dr. Philip Tew, associate professor of finance and PBL adviser for the state of Arkansas. “It is amazing to see these students in action. One of the great things looking at this group is 11 of the 34 students eligible for nationals are first-year students at A-State, while seven are sophomores. This will allow the A-State PBL chapter to continue its legacy of success.” Zoe Parsons was elected to the position of secretary/treasurer for Arkansas PBL, making her A-State’s 10th state officer since 2009. Also, Dr. Patricia Robertson, faculty adviser for Phi Beta Lambda, received recognition for 10 years of service to the organization. Additionally, outgoing president Samantha Risi received recognition for Who’s Who in Arkansas PBL and Rachel Washam placed first in Who’s Who. Among Arkansas State’s group of winners, 27 took first place honors, 18 were second, 12 finished in third, seven were in fourth and nine won fifth place awards. Individually, A-State winners include: First Place — Arkansas State, largest local chapter membership; Melanie Ricker, accounting analysis and decision making; Dylan Smith, accounting for professionals; Armaan Dharani, accounting principles; Kyler Brooks, administrative technologies; Kourtney Chadwell, business communication (four-year school division and overall); Rachel Washam, Alicia Warner and Bailey Dunn, business ethics; Alex Young business presentation; Rachel Washam, business sustainability; Shane Clark, computer applications (four-year school division); Alex Young, contemporary sports issues; Kim Dinh, cost accounting; Ahad Sanjrani and Jared Barham, economic analysis and decision making; Connor Shannon, entrepreneurship concepts; Kim Dinh, financial analysis and decision making; Thomas Hamaker, financial concepts; Kasey Williams, help desk; Thomas Hamaker, information management; Blake Moore, integrated marketing campaign; Grant Long, justice administration; Anthony Adkins, macroeconomics; Tristan Sweatt, microeconomics; Bryston Hickman, organizational behavior and leadership; Clayton Liddell, programming concepts; Zachary Corbitt, project management; Grant Long, sports management and marketing; Bryston Hickman and Samuel Reagan, website design. Second Place — Arkansas State, largest local chapter membership percentage increase; Connor Shannon, accounting for professionals; Ben Tinsley, accounting principles; Cynthia Barham, business communication (four-year school division); Taylor Parker, business law; Cody Hogan, computer concepts; Zachary Corbitt, financial concepts; Blake Moore, impromptu speaking; Amy Clay-Thomas, justice administration; Abigale Thompson, macroeconomics; Zoe Parsons and Jordan Womack, management analysis and decision making; Ben Tinsley, microeconomics; Armaan Dahrani, personal finance; Sam Reagan, programming concepts; Destiny Ervin, project management; J. Mark Lewis, sports management and marketing; Tristan Sweatt, statistical analysis. Third Place — Arkansas State, largest PBL professional division membership; Arkansas State, Gold Chapter; Matthew Collins, computer applications (four-year school division); Jerry Cooper, computer concepts; J. Mark Lewis, contemporary sports issues; Cody Hogan, cyber security; Valery Fuller, impromptu speaking; Abby Thompson, microeconomics; Clayton Liddell, networking concepts; Kourtney Chadwell, organization behavior and leadership; Shelby Corbitt, programming concepts; Anthony Adkins, statistical analysis. Fourth Place — Joel Haynes, cyber security; Valery Fuller, job interview; Abby Thompson, Rachel Washam and Samantha Risi, local chapter annual business report; Destiny Ervin, macroeconomics; Daisuke Takagi, marketing concepts; Preston Aaron, project management; Jasmine Fowler, retail management. Fifth Place — Kasey Williams, client service; Joel Haynes, computer concepts; Jerry Cooper, cyber security; Thomas Avila, financial concepts; McKinley James, impromptu speaking; Maria Odom, macroeconomics; Alicia Warner, management concepts; Quynh Ho, networking concepts; Hayden Henderson, sales presentation. The following students are also eligible to represent the state of Arkansas in 46 competitions at the national conference: Melanie Ricker, Connor Shannon, Dylan Smith, Ben Tinsley, Armaan Dharani, Kourtney Chadwell, Rachel Washam, Alicia Warner, Bailey Dunn, Taylor Parker, Alex Young, Jerry Cooper, Cody Hogan, J. Mark Lewis, Kim Dinh, Ahad Sanjrani, Jared Barham, Zachary Corbitt, Thomas Hamaker, Kasey Williams, Blake Moore, Amy Clay-Thomas, Abigale Thompson, Anthony Adkins, Zoe Parsons, Jordan Womack, Tristan Sweatt, Clayton Liddell, Bryston Hickman, Shelby Corbitt, Sam Reagan, Destiny Ervin, and Samuel Reagan. # # # This and other news releases also available at:<>
University Communications Arkansas State University [email protected]<mailto:[email protected]>
“Arkansas State University educates leaders, enhances intellectual growth and enriches lives.”

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related Articles

Nexstar: GOP Lawmakers Push to Reopen Schools

WASHINGTON, DC (NEXSTAR) — Republicans have turned to reopening schools as their political rallying cry to try to win back key components of their base: suburban voters and women.GOP lawmakers Read more

A-State Returns to In-Classroom and On-Campus Work Monday

02/19/2021 JONESBORO – Arkansas State University resumes in-classroom activities and on-campus work on Monday, Feb. 22. The Facilities Management crew worked tirelessly throughout the storm to keep campus roads and Read more

A-State Baseball Falls to No. 1 Ole Miss

Next Game: University of Tennessee at Martin 2/26/2021 | 4:00 PM 101.3 FM OXFORD, MIss. (2/24/21)  – OXFORD, Miss. (2/24/21) –  Liam Hicks scored the lone run for the Red Wolves as the Read more

Boozman, Colleagues Protect Health Care Workers from Discrimination

WASHINGTON—U.S. Senator John Boozman (R-AR) reintroduced the Conscience Protection Act of 2021 to protect health care providers, including health insurance plans, from government discrimination if they decline to participate in abortions. The Conscience Protection Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest