Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Merritt Selected to Biletnikoff Award Watch List

July 18, 2019

JONESBORO, Ark. (7/18/19) – Arkansas State senior wide receiver Kirk Merritt has been named to the 2019 Biletnikoff Award Watch List, announced Thursday by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation.


Merritt is one of 50 players from across the nation to find a place on this year’s watch list for the award, which is issued annually to the nation’s outstanding FBS receiver regardless of position.  He is one of 17 players from a Group of 5 conference and the only player from the Sun Belt to receive the recognition.


The Destrehan, La., native becomes the third all-time A-State player named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List, joining former wideouts J.D. McKissic in 2013 and Dwayne Frampton in 2011.  The three players hold the top three single-season school records for both receptions and receiving yards.


Merritt has also been tabbed as a 2019 Preseason First Team All-Sun Belt Conference selection and to the watch list for the Maxwell Award, which recognizes America’s college player of the year.  He is one of just 11 players in the nation to be named to both the Maxwell and Biletnikoff Award watch lists.


A First Team All-Sun Belt selection and the league’s Newcomer of the Year in 2018, Merritt is coming off one of the best seasons ever assembled by an A-State wide receiver.  He recorded 83 receptions for 1,005 yards, which were both the third most in school history.  He averaged 6.4 receptions per game to rank 20th in the nation, while his total receiving yards ranked 35th.


Merritt completed the year with five receiving touchdowns while also hitting the 100-yard mark in three outings, including a season-high 180 yards against Coastal Carolina that were the ninth most in A-State history for a single game.


The Biletnikoff Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football.  Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935.


Arkansas State is set to open its 2019 season Aug. 31 with a 6:00 p.m. kickoff at Centennial Bank Stadium against SMU.  Season tickets are available for purchase through the A-State Ticket Office, located at First National Bank Arena’s lower red entrance, in person, by phone at 870-972-2781 or online by visiting

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related Articles

A-STATE GAME NOTES: at Appalachian State

Story Links 2020 A State Football Game Notes Appalachian State GAME 6: Arkansas State (3-2, 1-1) at Appalachian State (2-1, 0-0)Oct. 22, 2020 | Kidd Brewer StadiumBoone, N.C. | 6:30 Read more

Adams Earns Second SBC Player of the Week Honor

Football 10/19/2020 10:47:00 AM Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (10/19/20) – Arkansas State senior wide receiver Jonathan Adams Jr. was tabbed the Sun Belt Conference Offensive Player of the Week for Read more

A-State’s Still Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

Football 10/14/2020 1:24:00 PM Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (10/14/20) – Arkansas State senior center Jacob Still, a three-time All-Sun Belt Conference selection, was named Monday to the 2020 watch list Read more

Rice and Hanson Earn SBC Weekly Football Honors

Football 10/12/2020 11:00:00 AM Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (10/12/20) – Arkansas State senior linebacker Justin Rice and redshirt freshman punter Ryan Hanson were named Monday as the Sun Belt Conference's Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest