Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Members of Arkansas Delegation Announce DOT Awards

Written by Press Release

February 26, 2021

WASHINGTON—U.S. Senators John Boozman and Tom Cotton—along with Congressmen Rick Crawford and Steve Womack—announced the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) has awarded over $4.5 million in federal grants to airports and airfields in Arkansas to off-set costs and maintain jobs as a result of COVID-19 as well as provide for increased sanitization to combat the spread of pathogens at these facilities.

The DOT, through the Federal Aviation Administration, is distributing the funds appropriated through the Coronavirus Relief and Response Supplemental Appropriations (CRRSA) Act, which passed with the support of the entire Arkansas Congressional Delegation in December 2020.

“The air travel industry has experienced dramatic disruption and losses as a result of the coronavirus pandemic. Relief measures aimed at blunting the impact of the economic damage were necessary and we are pleased to see those funds being delivered in support of airports and airfields in Arkansas. National and regional airports connect our communities to commerce and economic activity, so it is important to provide them assistance so they continue to remain viable,” members said.

The following awardees are recipients of CRRSA funding:

  • Northwest Arkansas National
    • $4,382,255 to the Northwest Arkansas Regional Airport Authority
      • Including a special CRRSA concession to provide economic relief from rent and minimum annual guarantees to on-airport car rental, on-airport parking and in-terminal concessions located at primary airports.
  • Rogers Executive Airport – Carter Field
    • $91,162 to the City of Rogers
  • De Witt Municipal Airport/Whitcomb Field (Arkansas County)
    • $13,000 to the City of De Witt
  • Thompson-Robbins Airport (Phillips County)
    • $9,000 to the City of Helena-West Helena
  • Delta Regional Airport (St. Francis County)
    • $13,000 to the Delta Regional Airport Authority
  • Walnut Ridge Regional Airport (Lawrence County)
    • $13,000 to the City of Walnut Ridge

CRRSA was signed into law by former President Donald Trump on December 27, 2020. The deadline to apply for the program’s grants is June 30, 2021.

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related Articles

Boozman Shares Success Stories of Arkansas Businesses for PPP Anniversary

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator John Boozman (R-AR) recognized Arkansas small businesses for their successful participation in the Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) in commemoration of the first anniversary of the lifeline’s launch.Congress Read more

Delivering a Lifeline to Small Businesses

Congress took aggressive action last year to respond to the public health and economic crisis caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. In a matter of days, Republicans and Democrats came together Read more

Boozman Backs Legislative Effort to Improve Financial Stability of Electric Co-ops, Small Rural Broadband Providers

WASHINGTON—U.S. Senator John Boozman (R-AR) joined a bipartisan group of senators to reintroduce the Flexible Financing for Rural America Act—a bill to help stabilize the finances of the nation’s rural electric Read more

The Courier: Boozman praises local vaccination efforts

U.S. Sen. John Boozman visited Saint Mary’s Regional Medical Center in Russellville Thursday to discuss Pope County COVID-19 vaccination efforts with city and county officials. His visit was part of Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest