Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Liberal Arts and Communication Honors Top Students

April 26, 2019


JONESBORO – This year’s most outstanding graduating students in the College of Liberal Arts and Communication at Arkansas State University were honored for their achievements during Convocation of Scholars award ceremonies, according to Dr. Carl Cates, dean.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Fumi Kubota of Japan, who graduated in December with a Bachelor of Music Education degree in instrumental music.   The Chancellor’s Scholar is the graduating student with the highest cumulative GPA in the college.

Payton Binns of Cabot, Ethan Cooper of Portageville, Mo., Tomomi Hashimoto of Japan, Katherine Huss of Jonesboro, David Persell of Jonesboro and Tanisha Tak of India, along with Kubota, received the 4.0 Scholar Award.  In the event of a tie, the Chancellor’s Scholar is the student who has completed the most credit hours.

A highlight this year was the Department of Media’s presentation of the inaugural Dick Clay “That’s Sports” Memorial Scholarship to Clayton Holderfield of Cabot, a creative media production major with an emphasis in sports media.  The scholarship was established in memory of the legendary KAIT-TV sportscaster.  Members of Clay’s family and representatives of KAIT-TV were present for the announcement.

The award recipients and their respective degree programs are (by academic department):

Art + Design

Dave Persell of Jonesboro, Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA), studio art, emphasis in painting; Alivia Rouse of Jonesboro, BFA, graphic design; Mackenzie Barley of Harrisburg, BFA, graphic design.


Tanisha Tak of India, Bachelor of Arts (BA), communication studies, and Sarah Handloser of Sheridan, Bachelor of Science (BS), strategic communication.

Criminology, Sociology and Geography

Kara Austin of Jonesboro, BA, criminology; Tomomi Hashimoto of Japan, BA, sociology; Justin Gibson of Paragould, Master of Arts (MA), criminology; and LaVonda Evans of Paragould, MA, sociology.

English, Philosophy and World Languages

Emma Reddmann of Pocahontas, Bachelor of Science in Education (BSE), English; Katherine Huss of Jonesboro, BA, English; Stephen Henry of Batesville, BA, philosophy; Lindsay Spell of Cabot, BA, Spanish; Andrew Gadberry of Paragould and Talena Ramnath of Melbourne, Fla., MA, English.


Meredith Carvell of Bentonville, BA, history; Rachel Poole of Jonesboro, BSE, social science; Chelsea McNutt of Palestine, MA, history; Morgan Garland of Bryant, MSE, social science; and Will Walker of Pocahontas, MA, history.


Destini Lattimore of North Little Rock, BS, multimedia journalism (emphasis in news-editorial); Jacob Stewart of Mammoth Spring, BS, media (emphasis in narrative media).


Fumi Kubota of Japan, Bachelor of Music Education (BME), instrumental music; Xin Ying Kong of Malaysia, Bachelor of Music (BM), piano performance; and Trevor Asher of Poplar Bluff, Mo., Bachelor of Arts (BA), music.

Political Science

Alejandra Morales of Trumann, BA, political science; Tarnisha Tilson of Jonesboro, Master of Public Administration (MPA); and Johanna Eslinger of Laramie, Wyo., MPA, online program.


Davis Campbell of Batesville, Bachelor of Arts (BA), theatre.

                                                     # # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related Articles

Northeast Arkansas NYIT COVID-19 Vaccine Event Now Open to Food Manufacturing Employees

03/02/2021 Release courtesy of NYIT College of Osteopathic Medicine at A-State For more information, contact Casey Pearce of NYITCOM at A-State at 870-882-9954. JONESBORO, AR – Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson Read more

A-State Drops SBC Opener to UT Arlington

Next Match: Texas State 3/7/2021 | 10:00 AM JONESBORO, Ark. (3/3/21) – Opening its 2021 Sun Belt Conference schedule, the Arkansas State women's tennis team dropped a 4-0 decision to Read more

Snider Foundation Adds Gift for Graduate Nursing Scholarships

03/02/2021 JONESBORO – The Dorothy Snider Foundation has presented a second $25,000 gift to Arkansas State University to continue providing scholarships for students pursing a Master of Science in Nursing degree, Read more

A-State Baseball Falls To Murray State 9-6

Next Game: at Abilene Christian 3/5/2021 | 6:05 P.M. 95.3 The Ticket MURRAY. Ky (3/2/21) –  After pulling within one run, the Arkansas State baseball team wasn't able to keep momentum Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest