Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Hansen and Clifton Earns Spots on Wuerffel Trophy Watch List

July 26, 2018

JONESBORO, Ark. (7/26/18) – Arkansas State seniors Justice Hansen and Justin Clifton have been selected as preseason candidates for the 2018 Wuerffel Trophy.

The pair have been active in several community service projects since coming to Jonesboro and have been leaders in organizing events for fellow teammates. They have also participated in charity events such as a “Feed the Children” project at the 2016 AutoNation Cure Bowl as well as Special Olympics and reading programs in the Jonesboro area.

On the field, Hansen is coming off his best season as the A-State quarterback which saw him throw for 6,686 yards, run for 553 yards and toss 56 touchdown passes. He was named the 2018 Sun Belt Conference Preseason Offensive Player of the Year and has also been named to the Maxwell Award and the Davey O’Brien Award Watch Lists.

Clifton started every game a nickel cornerback in 2017 and posted multiple tackles in all 12 of A-State’s games. He finished third on the team with 63 tackles and also added 4.5 tackles for loss, while breaking up a career-high 13 passes. He named the best overall defensive player in the Sun Belt by SB Nation and was a 2018 All-SBC Preseason First-Team selection. Earlier this year he was named to the Thorpe Award and Nagurski Trophy Watch Lists.

This marks the first time in A-State history that is has placed two athletes on the Wuerffel Trophy List. Most recently, Blaise Taylor, was a semifinalist for the award 2017, while former quarterback Fredi Knighten appeared on the list in 2015.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented annually at the All Sports Association’s Awards Banquet in Fort Walton Beach.  Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.


Season tickets for the Red Wolves’ 2018 football campaign, which includes six home games, are available for purchase.

Tickets may be purchased through the A-State Ticket Office, located at the Convocation Center’s lower red entrance, in person, by phone at 870-972-2781 or online by visiting

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related Articles

A-State Comeback Bid Falls Short Versus South Alabama

Blake Anderson Photo Credit: Travis Clayton | Arkansas State Brandon Bowling Photo Credit: Travis Clayton | Arkansas State Jamal Jones Photo Credit: Travis Clayton | Arkansas State Justin Rice Photo Read more

A-State Drops 47-45 Shootout At Texas State

Blake Grupe Photo Credit: Brendan Maloney Jonathan Adams TD Photo Credit: Brendan Maloney Logan Bonner Photo Credit: Brendan Maloney Justin Rice Photo Credit: Brendan Maloney Celebration Photo Credit: Brendan Maloney Read more

TV Broadcast for A-State vs Texas State Football Game Moved to ESPN2

Football 11/21/2020 9:31:00 AM Story Links SAN MARCOS, Texas (11/21/20) – The television broadcast for today's 11:00 a.m. Arkansas State football game at Texas State has been changed from ESPNU Read more

A-State Football Game at Texas State Moved to 11 AM Kick on ESPNU

Football 11/18/2020 3:41:00 PM Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (11/18/20) – The Arkansas State football team's game this Saturday, Nov. 21, against Texas State at Bobcat Stadium has been moved to Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest