Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Faculty Members Approved for Promotions and Tenure

June 17, 2020


JONESBORO – Thirteen faculty members at Arkansas State University have been promoted in academic rank and 10 have attained tenure, announced Dr. Alan Utter, provost and executive vice chancellor for Academic Affairs and Research.

The ASU Board of Trustees approved recommendations from the Promotion, Retention and Tenure Committee and university administration.  The actions are effective July 1 with the beginning of the 2020-21 academic year.

“I wish to personally congratulate each of our faculty who have earned tenure and/or promotion,” Utter added.  “We are very fortunate to have each of them as part of our faculty here at Arkansas State University.”

Faculty who were promoted to professor and their respective academic areas are Dr. Jianfeng Xu, agriculture; Dr. Gauri Shankar Guha, economics; Dr. Ryan Kelly, reading; Dr. Kwangkook Jeong, mechanical engineering; Dr. Hong Zhou, statistics; and Dr. David F. Gilmore, environmental biology.

Seven faculty members were promoted to associate professor and approved for tenure.  They are Dr. Manu Bhandari, strategic communication; Dr. Kellie Buford, history; Dr. Joseph Rukus, sociology; Dr. Edward Salo, history; Dr. Christina Akbari, communication disorders; Dr. Lisa Rice, mathematics education; and Dr. Brook Fluker, aquatic ecology.

Three additional faculty members also attained tenure.  They are Dr. Sharon D. James, management; Dr. Matthew D. Hill, finance; and Shanon Brantley, communication disorders.

# # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related Articles

Becks Endow Scholarships to Honor Hanrahan, Potts

10/29/2020 JONESBORO – Arkansas State University alumni Buddy and Charlotte Beck have funded endowed scholarships in honor of Dr. Susan Hanrahan, dean of the College of Nursing and Health Professions, Read more

Sun Belt Conference Announces New 2020-21 Men’s & Women’s Hoops Schedules

Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (10/29/20) – On Thursday, the Sun Belt Conference announced updates to both men's and women's basketball league schedules, moving each to 18-game divisional-only slates. With the Read more

SBC Recognizes A-State as 2019-20 Bubas Cup Champion

10/28/2020 Courtesy Athletics Media Relations JONESBORO – The Sun Belt Conference announced Wednesday that the Arkansas State Athletics Department has officially been named the winner of the 2019-20 Vic Bubas Read more

Halloween-Themed Events Fill Calendar This Week

10/27/2020 JONESBORO – Students, faculty and staff at Arkansas State University have scheduled several Halloween-themed events and activities on campus this week. All events are required to operate under standard Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest