Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Engineering and Computer Science Presents Top 2019-20 Awards

May 14, 2020


JONESBORO – Seventeen students in the College of Engineering and Computer Science at Arkansas State University have been announced as the most outstanding graduating students, according to Dr. Abhijit Bhattacharyya, dean.  Normally these awards are presented during Convocation of Scholars, but the annual event was not held this year due to the pandemic.

Undergraduate and graduate students in engineering and computer science were recognized for outstanding achievement.

Rocklan McCall of Lake City received the Chancellor’s Scholar Award, given to the graduating senior with the highest overall grade point average in the college.  McCall and Rebecca Chen of Jonesboro received the 4.0 Scholar Award for having a perfect gradepoint average.  When there is a tie, the Chancellor’s Scholar award goes to the student with the most credit hours.

The departmental awards are presented annually to the top graduating senior in each of the academic degree programs.

The award recipients and their respective degree programs are: Loc Duc Ho of Jonesboro, BS, computer science; Daiki Itoh of Japan, BA, computer science; Omar Alhallak of Saudi Arabia, BSEng, civil engineering; Brian Hufty of Rector, BSEng, mechanical engineering; Rocklan McCall of Lake City, BSEng, electrical engineering; and Thomas P. Hickam of Jacksonville, BS, technology.

The graduate program students who attained a 4.0 grade point average within their respective concentrations received Outstanding Student Award certificates.  Those recognized were:

Master of Science in Computer Science: Trang Minh Tran of Vietnam, Jialu Ma of China, Debrath Banerjee of India, and Brandon Sims of Paragould.

Master of Science in Engineering: Tamal Sarkar of Bangladesh and Nathaniel Bryce Blevins of Lamar.

Master in Engineering Management: Sabrina Dahlke of Franklin, Ky., Chelsey Roberts of Paragould, Paige Smith of Broken Arrow, Okla., and James Chidester of Austin.

The college is planning an online graduation celebration Friday evening, May 15, during which time these students and others will be recognized.

# # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related Articles

Athletics Statement Reiterating ADH-Approved Plan and Guidelines for Centennial Bank Stadium

10/30/2020 Courtesy Athletics Media Relations JONESBORO – In support of this week’s joint communication from 11 northeast Arkansas hospitals urging residents of the region to remain diligent in their efforts Read more

Muckensturm To Be Inducted Into A-State’s Ring Of Honor

Football 10/30/2020 2:09:00 PM Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (10/30/20) – Former Arkansas State football All-America standout Jerry Muckensturm is slated to become the newest member of the school's prestigious Ring Read more

Becks Endow Scholarships to Honor Hanrahan, Potts

10/29/2020 JONESBORO – Arkansas State University alumni Buddy and Charlotte Beck have funded endowed scholarships in honor of Dr. Susan Hanrahan, dean of the College of Nursing and Health Professions, Read more

Sun Belt Conference Announces New 2020-21 Men’s & Women’s Hoops Schedules

Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (10/29/20) – On Thursday, the Sun Belt Conference announced updates to both men's and women's basketball league schedules, moving each to 18-game divisional-only slates. With the Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest