Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Education and Behavioral Science Names Top 2019 Grads

April 23, 2019


JONESBORO – The College of Education and Behavioral Science at Arkansas State University recognized 27 outstanding graduating students for 2018-19 during a Convocation of Scholars awards ceremony, according to Dr. Mary Jane Bradley, dean of the college.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award for highest overall GPA in the college was presented to Amy Andrea of Indian Creek, Ill.

Kerri Kramer of Batesville and Haden Kennedy of Walnut Ridge received the 4.0 Graduate Award for completing their degree programs with a perfect GPA also. In the event of a tie, the individual with the most credit hours receives the Chancellor’s Scholar award.

The departmental awards are presented during Convocation of Scholars to the graduate in each degree program who has most excelled in scholarship, leadership and service to the department.

Those receiving awards and their respective degree programs, by department:

Department of Educational Leadership, Curriculum and Special Education:

Andrew Watson of Paragould, Doctor of Education (EdD), educational leadership; Russell Stokes of Jonesboro, Specialist in Education (EdS)/superintendent, educational leadership; Brooke Hall of Jonesboro, EdS/building principal, educational leadership; Angela McKinnon of Memphis, Master of Science in Education (MSE), special education; Jennifer Soapes of Sheridan, MSE, gifted and talented; Traci Simpson of Jonesboro, Master of Science (MS), college student personnel services; Tina Adams of Brookland, Bachelor of Science in Education (BSE), special education.

Department of Health, Physical Education and Sport Sciences:

Blair Matheny of Paragould, BSE, physical education; Kyle Madden of Jonesboro, Bachelor of Science (BS), exercise science; Kelby Nicholson of Grubbs, BS, health promotion; Andrea Algarra of Terrassa, Spain, BS, sport management; Brianna Sayer of Jonesboro, MS, exercise science; Brian Cook of Americus, Ga., MS, sport administration; Kara Taylor of Pocahontas, MSE, physical education.

Department of Psychology and Counseling:

Kiara Smith of Jonesboro, EdS, clinical mental health counseling; Samantha Saldivar of Columbia, Mo., EdS, school psychology; Stephen Berry of Bono, MS, psychological science; Kristyn Blek of Jonesboro, BS, psychology.

Department of Teacher Education:

Angela Barbaree of Hope, MSE, reading; Hsuan Chao of Mission Viejo, Calif., MSE, early childhood education, Carrie Rossman of Jonesboro, Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT), middle-level education; Erin Gately of Overland Park, Kan., BSE, elementary education; Heather Castillow of Rexburg, Idaho, MS, childhood services; and Lindsey Hart of Cabot, BSE, middle-level education.

                                                     # # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related Articles

A-State Concludes Regular Season With 3-0 Win Over Louisiana

JONESBORO, Ark. (10/25/20) – Strong offensive efforts along with a solid defensive strategy propelled the Arkansas State women's soccer team past Louisiana 3-0 in its home finale, Sunday. Following the win, the Red Read more

A-State Drops 3-0 Outcome At Louisiana In Series Finale

Story Links Box Score (PDF) Next Match: at Little Rock 10/30/2020 | 6:00 PM ESPN+ LAFAYETTE, La. (10/24/20) – In the series finale on Saturday at Earl K. Long Gym, Read more

Distinguished Performance Awards Presented for 2019-20

10/21/2020 Individuals receiving Distinguished Performance Awards were (from left) Carnesha Ben, Jeannie Cossey, Lauren DeFazio, Kelli Listenbee, Kathryn Pulliam and Kyle Walker. JONESBORO – The 27th annual Distinguished Performance Awards Read more

A-State Drops 3-1 Decision Friday Morning At Louisiana

Story Links Box Score (PDF) Next Match: at Louisiana 10/23/2020 | 6:00 PM ESPN+ LAFAYETTE, La. (10/23/20) – Facing a 2-0 deficit in the match, Arkansas State battled to force Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest