Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Diversity Awards for 2021 Presented During Convocation of Scholars

April 14, 2021


JONESBORO —  Four individuals and three organizations who have made significant contributions toward achieving a more diverse environment at Arkansas State University were recognized during a Convocation of Scholars ceremony as recipients of the 2021 Diversity Awards.

The Diversity Awards program is a recognition of individuals and organizations who have demonstrated the highest commitment to advancing diversity and inclusion on the A-State campus as well as the Jonesboro community over the past year, according to Dr. Lonnie Williams, vice chancellor of the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement.

The recipients this year are as follows:

The United Voices Gospel Choir received the Student Organization Diversity Award.

Dr. Argelia Lorence, professor of metabolic engineering and holder of the James and Wanda Lee Vaughn Professorship, received the Excellence in Diversity Award.

Dr. Patricia Robertson Johnston, interim associate dean of the Neil Griffin College of Business and chair of the Department of Economics and Finance, also received the Excellence in Diversity Award.

Dr. Zahid Hossain, co-director and associate professor of civil engineering, received the Champion of Diversity Award.

Dr. Timothy Crist, professor of music and former chair of the Lecture-Concert Committee, also received the Champion of Diversity Award.

The Community Excellence in Diversity awards were presented to the Craighead County chapter of the NAACP and to KLEK-FM.

Recipients of the Diversity Awards are selected by a university committee from among a slate of nominees from across campus. Additional details about the Diversity Awards program and award criteria are available online.

# # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

Top Journalism, Mass Communication Students Inducted into Kappa Tau Alpha

JONESBORO —Ten Arkansas State University students were recently inducted into the Kappa Tau Alpha (KTA) honor society.  The ceremony was conducted during Convocation of Scholars via Zoom due to Covid-19.KTA Read more

A-State’s Klutts, Nash Sweep SBC Weekly Baseball Honors

Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (5/11/21) – After a stellar weekend that included a series win over (RV) Georgia Southern, the Arkansas State baseball team swept both Sun Belt Conference weekly Read more

Rugby Standout Nominated for Collegiate Player of the Year

JONESBORO — TJ van Rensburg, a sophomore scrumhalf for Arkansas State University’s rugby club team, is a nominee for the 2021 Rudy Scholz Award. The Scholz Award honors the best Read more

Student with Triple Major Selected for Fulbright Grant to Teach in Spain

05/07/2021 JONESBORO – Arkansas State University student Rachel French has been offered a grant from the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board to teach Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest