Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Delta National Small Prints Exhibition Awards are Announced

January 29, 2021


JONESBORO – The 25th Delta National Small Prints Exhibition (DNSPE) opened Thursday evening at Arkansas State University’s Bradbury Art Museum (BAM) with a public reception for the artists and arts patrons.

DNSPE continues to celebrate contemporary printmakers while serving to cultivate the sense of place that defines the Delta region, according to Garry Holstein, director of BAM.

Charlotte Dutoit of Justkids, juror for the 2021 exhibition, reviewed hundreds of entries from artists in the U.S. and beyond.  She saw the title, medium, dimensions and statement associated with each print, but not the artist’s name or location.

Dutoit chose 50 prints to include in the exhibition and also determined which artists would receive purchase prizes, with their work becoming part of A-State’s permanent collection.  Others received juror’s merit awards.

A full-color catalog of the entire exhibition is will be available to visitors and the artists.

“It is our goal to continue to facilitate access to the arts for all ages through community engagement activities and cultural stewardship initiatives,” Holstein said in his director’s statement.  “It is our vision to utilize our assets to help create a world that is compassionate, empathetic, and understanding of the diversity of voices that make up the place we call home.”

The purchase award-winning entries are (in alphabetical order by the artist’s last name):

  • Don A. Tilton Purchase Award (underwritten by Don A. Tilton of Little Rock): “Stunt Ration – Chiara,” 2020, etching and ink-jet, by Alberto Balletti.
  • Mary and Don Vollman Purchase Award (underwritten by Mary E. and Dr. Don B. Vollman of Jonesboro): “Take Care,” 2020, lithography, by Kathleen Charnley.
  • Drs. Phylllis and Warren Skaug Purchase Award (underwritten by Drs. Phyllis and Warren Skaug of Jonesboro): “Aunt Marie,” 2020, collagraph, color pencils, by Luca Cruzat.
  • Cheryl Wall Trimarchi Purchase Award (in honor of her grandchildren Max Giesecke, Sebastian Giesecke, Olivia Hart and Giorgia Hart): “Kauai, Another Day in Paradise,” 2020, block printing ink and digital inkjet on Awagami Kozo thin white paper, by Patty deGrandpre.
  • Les Christensen Excellence in Art Purchase Award (underwritten by Julie Bates of Little Rock): “Weep,” 2020, photopolymer gravure, by Jenny Freestone.
  • President’s Purchase Award (underwritten by Mandy and Dr. Charles Welch of Little Rock): “Sense,” 2020, colour archival inkjet print, by Jacinta Giles.
  • Chancellor’s Purchase Award (underwritten by Beth and Dr. Kelly Damphousse of Jonesboro): “Bubble Heads,” 2020, photo intaglio, by Carol Hayman.
  • Lindquist Purchase Award (underwritten by Chucki and Curt Bradbury Jr. of Little Rock): “Heavy Tangle,” 2019, screen print, by Heather Huston.
  • BAM Purchase Award: “Bitch,” 2020, relief on vellum and paper, embroidery, by Madeline Jennings McMahan.
  • Chucki Bradbury Art Purchase Award (underwritten by a Special Endowment in Honor of Chucki Bradbury): “Invisibility #6,” 2020, digital photography, by Andrea Nhuch.
  • College of Liberal Arts and Communication Purchase Award (underwritten by Dr. Carl Cates of Jonesboro and Dr. Gina Hogue of Bay): “Never Been Kissed,” 2020, inkjet print, by Jennifer Pearce.
  • Sonny Erwin Purchase Award (in loving memory of Claude M. Erwin Jr. of Dallas): “Fading Poppies 2,” 2020, dry-point and watercolor on heavy weight print paper, by Johntimothy Pizzuto.
  • Les Christensen Purchase Award (underwritten by Sharon and Evan Lindquist of Jonesboro): “Two Foxes and a Pool,” 2016, relief print on 3D lenticular media, by Mary Ann Strandell.

The Juror Merit Awards this year are as follows:

  • Curtis Steele Merit Award (underwritten by Curtis Steele of Jonesboro), “The 14th of April, Gabriel Texting,” 2020, relief, by Brian Kreydatus.
  • Juror Merit Award, “For Elizabeth,” 2019, woodcut on mulberry, by Emily Legleitner.
  • Juror Merit Award, “The Weaver,” 2019, woodcut, by Ellen Singer.

Juror Merit Award, “Napesis ~ Tiny Tot Fancy Dancer,” 2020, mezzotint, by Linda Whitney.

The Delta National Small Prints exhibition continues through Wednesday, Feb. 17.  In addition, “Height X Width X Depth: Sculpture from the Arkansas Arts Center Foundation Collection” also continues to be on view at BAM.

Museum hours are noon to 5 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday, and by appointment.  BAM is located in Fowler Center, 201 Olympic Dr.  Admission is free.  For additional details, one may contact the museum at (870) 972-2567 or visit its webpage,

# # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related Articles

Snider Foundation Adds Gift for Graduate Nursing Scholarships

03/02/2021 JONESBORO – The Dorothy Snider Foundation has presented a second $25,000 gift to Arkansas State University to continue providing scholarships for students pursing a Master of Science in Nursing degree, Read more

A-State Baseball Falls To Murray State 9-6

Next Game: at Abilene Christian 3/5/2021 | 6:05 P.M. 95.3 The Ticket MURRAY. Ky (3/2/21) –  After pulling within one run, the Arkansas State baseball team wasn't able to keep momentum Read more

Game Notes: A-State at Murray State

Story Links   STORYLINES • The 2021 campaign marks the program's 74th season with the Red Wolves amassing a 1,334-1,1649 all-time record dating back to the inaugural 1948 season. • Read more

A-State Bowling Claims Big Red Invitational Title; Welch, Davis Earn All-Tournament Honors

Story Links LINCOLN, Neb.  (2/28/21) – Leading the tournament field by an impressive 300 pins, the Arkansas State Women's bowling team earned a first-place finish at the Big Red Invitational in Lincoln, Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest