Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Delta Byways Announces Finalists for Tourism Awards

February 15, 2020


JONESBORO – Arkansas Delta Byways will present the annual Delta Awards, recognizing tourism achievement in Eastern Arkansas during 2019, during festivities Friday evening, Feb. 21, at the Technology Center for the Delta, 1790 N. Falls Boulevard in Wynne.

The evening will begin with a 5:30 p.m. silent auction, followed by the dinner and awards at 7 p.m.   The event is sponsored by Arkansas Delta Byways with support from the City of Wynne and the Wynne Chamber of Commerce.

Arkansas Delta Byways, located on the Arkansas State University campus, is a nonprofit organization recognized by the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism as the official tourism promotion association for 15 counties in Eastern Arkansas. 

The counties are Arkansas, Chicot, Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Drew, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett and St. Francis.

The annual awards event is open to the public.  Tickets are $30 per person or a table of eight for $225.  For information on ticket availability, contact Gretchen Sacotnik, 870-573-6751.

Categories and the finalists for the awards are:

Media Support Award

  • Deborah Horn, SEAlife, all counties
  • KASU – AETN, Ken Burns “Country Music” Promotion, all counties
  • “Arkansas’s Scenic Tourism Landscapes,” Arkansas Tourism photographers, all counties

Hospitality Award

  • Arkansas Welcome Center of Blytheville, Mississippi County
  • Women’s Service League of McGehee, Desha County
  • Vicki Trimble, Cross County 

Entrepreneur Award

  • Weston Lewey, Chez Weenie, St. Francis County
  • Cypress Coffee House, Mississippi County
  • Delta Cultural Center Museum Gift Shop, Phillips County

Tourism Support/Promotional Award

  • Helena Adventure Company and Mississippi River State Park Partnership Project, Phillips County
  • Madpie’s Tea Room and Shoppes, Clay County
  • Main Street Christmas Storefronts, Paragould, Greene County

Festival Event of the Year

  • Christmas at the Park, Craighead County
  • Delta Roots Country Festival, Phillips County
  • World’s Championship Duck Calling Contest, Arkansas County

Boot Strap Award

  • Lake Village Chamber of Commerce, Chicot County
  • WWI Anniversary Celebration, Hemingway-Pfeiffer Museum and Piggott PACE, Clay County 
  • Rector Community Museum, Clay County

Cultural Heritage Award

  • Rockabilly Exhibit, Arkansas State University Museum, Craighead County
  • Desha County Museum, Desha County
  • “Chats with the Curator,” Southern Tenant Farmers Museum, Poinsett County

Outstanding Member Award, to be announced.

Tourism Person of the Year, to be announced.

# # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related Articles

ASBTDC Closes Out Coffee Connections Series Oct. 27

10/22/2020 JONESBORO — The Arkansas Small Business and Technology Development Center (ASBTDC) at Arkansas State University will conclude its virtual Coffee Connections series for small businesses, Tuesday, Oct. 27. The Read more

A-State Football Game at Louisiana to Appear on ESPNU, Kickoff at 11 AM

Football 10/26/2020 5:25:00 PM Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (10/26/20) – Arkansas State's Sun Belt Conference game at Louisiana on Saturday, Nov. 7, will be televised on ESPNU with an 11:00 Read more

A-State Concludes Regular Season With 3-0 Win Over Louisiana

JONESBORO, Ark. (10/25/20) – Strong offensive efforts along with a solid defensive strategy propelled the Arkansas State women's soccer team past Louisiana 3-0 in its home finale, Sunday. Following the win, the Red Read more

A-State Drops 3-0 Outcome At Louisiana In Series Finale

Story Links Box Score (PDF) Next Match: at Little Rock 10/30/2020 | 6:00 PM ESPN+ LAFAYETTE, La. (10/24/20) – In the series finale on Saturday at Earl K. Long Gym, Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest