Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

College of Sciences and Mathematics Notes Top Graduates of 2017-18

Written by Press Release

April 20, 2018

Media Note: One or more students listed a hometown in your coverage area. Also note, some students received more than one award.
College of Sciences and Mathematics Notes Top Graduates 4/20/2018 JONESBORO — The College of Sciences and Mathematics at Arkansas State University recognized 22 outstanding graduating students for 2017-18 Thursday evening during its annual awards ceremony, according to Dr. Anne Grippo, interim dean of the college. The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Bo Ritter of Hot Springs. The Chancellor’s Scholar is the graduating student with the highest overall grade point average in the respective academic college. Ritter, along with Kelli Elkin of Hot Springs, Makayla Moody of Jonesboro, Miranda Perry of Cabot, Darby Sparks of Kennett, Mo., and Patrick Tribbett of Kingman, Ariz., received the 4.0 Scholar Award. When a tie occurs, the Chancellor’s Scholar is the student with the most credit hours. The departmental awards are presented during Convocation of Scholars to the graduate in each degree program who has most excelled in scholarship, leadership and service to the department. Graduating seniors who served as College of Sciences & Mathematics Ambassadors were also recognized. Those receiving awards and their respective degree programs were: Biological Sciences Alexis Philippe of Manchester, Mo., Bachelor of Science (BS), biological sciences (pre-professional studies); Abigail Hickam of Jacksonville, BS, biological sciences (zoology); Jacey Mize of Crawfordsville, BS, biological sciences; Kandria Driskill of Sheridan, BS, biological sciences (environmental biology); Alfonso Arteaga of Berryville, BS, environmental sciences; and Colton Rudder of Star City, BS, wildlife ecology and management. Chemistry and Physics Alexis Phillipe of Manchester, Mo., Bachelor of Arts (BA), chemistry; Steven Cooper of Searcy, BS, chemistry; and Patrick Tribbett of Kingman, Ariz., BS, physics. Computer Science An Huynh of Batesville, BS, computer science. Mathematics Makayla Moody of Jonesboro and Marissa Crawford of Violet Hill, BSE, mathematics; Miranda Perry of Cabot and Bo Ritter of Hot Springs, BS, mathematics. Graduate Programs Graduate student awards were presented to five master’s degree students and one doctoral degree candidate. The students and their respective programs were: Alexander Worm of Conway, MS, biological sciences; Amanda Brewer of Brookland, MSE, biological sciences; Brenda Staufer of Jonesboro and Lifeng Li of China, MS, computer science; Prabu Annamalai of India, MS, mathematics; and Michael (Jason) Newell of Springdale, PhD, environmental sciences. # # # This and other news releases also available at:<>
University Communications Arkansas State University [email protected]<mailto:[email protected]>
“Arkansas State University educates leaders, enhances intellectual growth and enriches lives.”

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related Articles

A-State Returns to In-Classroom and On-Campus Work Monday

02/19/2021 JONESBORO – Arkansas State University resumes in-classroom activities and on-campus work on Monday, Feb. 22. The Facilities Management crew worked tirelessly throughout the storm to keep campus roads and Read more

A-State Baseball Falls to No. 1 Ole Miss

Next Game: University of Tennessee at Martin 2/26/2021 | 4:00 PM 101.3 FM OXFORD, MIss. (2/24/21)  – OXFORD, Miss. (2/24/21) –  Liam Hicks scored the lone run for the Red Wolves as the Read more

Boozman, Colleagues Protect Health Care Workers from Discrimination

WASHINGTON—U.S. Senator John Boozman (R-AR) reintroduced the Conscience Protection Act of 2021 to protect health care providers, including health insurance plans, from government discrimination if they decline to participate in abortions. The Conscience Protection Read more

Museum to Present Moon Adventure Game in March and April

02/22/2021 JONESBORO – Throughout the months of March and April, Arkansas State University Museum will present an escape room-inspired gallery activity: Moon Adventure Game.  Guests who engage in the Moon Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest