Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

College of Sciences and Mathematics Honors Top Graduates

May 2, 2019


JONESBORO — The College of Sciences and Mathematics at Arkansas State University recognized 22 outstanding graduating students for 2018-19 during its annual Convocation of Scholars awards ceremony, according to Dr. Anne Grippo, interim dean of the college.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Madalyn Weiner of Little Rock.  The Chancellor’s Scholar is the graduating student with the highest overall grade point average in the respective academic college.

Weiner, along with Madeline Malloy of Mountain Home, received the 4.0 Scholar Award.  When a tie occurs, the Chancellor’s Scholar is the student with the most credit hours.

The departmental awards are presented during Convocation of Scholars to the graduate in each degree program who has most excelled in scholarship, leadership and service to the department.

Those receiving awards and their respective degree programs were:

Biological Sciences
Anna Mears of Colt, Bachelor of Science (BS), biological sciences (pre-professional studies); Danielle Byrne of Campbell, Mo., BS, biological sciences (zoology); Hilary Canada of Blytheville, BS, biological sciences (environmental); Annie Savage of Alexander, BS, environmental science; Haylee Campbell of Bryant, BS, wildlife ecology and management; Summer Jarosz of Phenix City, Ala., Bachelor of Science in Education (BSE), biological sciences education; and Tristen Wright of Paragould, BS, biotechnology.

Chemistry and Physics
Madalyn Weiner of Little Rock, Bachelor of Arts (BA), chemistry; Kristiana Watson of Conway, BS, chemistry; Jacob Wolford of Hardy, BSE, chemistry; and Katelyn Watson of Lake Ozark, Mo., BS, physics.

Anna Sturgeon of Jonesboro and Joshua Manning of Paragould, BSE, mathematics; and Zachary Rail of Vilonia, BS, mathematics.

Graduate Programs
Graduate student awards were presented to six master’s degree students and one doctoral degree candidate.

The students and their respective programs were: Gina Hendrick of Cape Coral, Fla., Master of Science (MS), biological sciences; Candace Campbell of Paragould, Master of Science in Education (MSE), biological sciences; and Cathie Butler of Paragould, Master of Arts (MA), biological sciences.

Other graduate recognitions included Angela Crider of Paragould and Meng Chen of China, MS, mathematics; Wayne Smart of St. George’s, Grenada, MS, environmental sciences; and Lucia Acosta-Gamboz of Costa Rica, Ph.D, molecular biosciences.

                                                           # # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

Kutella’s Golden Goal Clinches Regular Season Title for A-State Soccer

Back-??-BackSun Belt Regular Season Champions! #WolvesUp — Arkansas State Red Wolves Soccer (@AStateSoccer) October 23, 2021 TROY, Ala. (10/22/21) – Rachel Kutella's golden goal in the 100th minute clinched Read more

Theatre to Open Wilde Classic, ‘Importance of Being Earnest,’ Oct. 22

10/15/2021 JONESBORO – Arkansas State University's Department of Theatre will begin its 2021-2022 season with "The Importance of Being Earnest," by Oscar Wilde. Performances are at 7:30 p.m., Friday and Read more

Surcey Wins Two Matches on Opening Day of ITA Regionals

Story Links IOWA CITY, Iowa. (10/21/21) – Beginning play Thursday at ITA Regionals, Emily Surcey secured two of three singles wins by the Arkansas State women's tennis team. Surcey opened with Read more

ASBTDC to Offer Newport Consulting Session

10/19/2021 JONESBORO —The Arkansas Small Business and Technology Development Center (ASBTDC) at Arkansas State University is offering a small business consulting session during November in Newport. The session will be held Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest