Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

College of Sciences and Mathematics Honors Top 2019-20 Graduates

May 3, 2020


JONESBORO — The College of Sciences and Mathematics at Arkansas State University has recognized 21 outstanding students who are graduating in 2019-20, according to Dr. Lynn Boyd, dean of the college.  The virtual recognition was in lieu of the awards ceremony normally held during the annual Convocation of Scholars.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Samuel Whitmire of Jonesboro.  The Chancellor’s Scholar is the graduating student with the highest overall grade point average in the respective academic college.

Whitmire, along with Anna Gracie Anders of Beebe and Kennith Swafford of Beebe, received the 4.0 Scholar Award.  When a tie occurs, the Chancellor’s Scholar is the student with the most credit hours.

The departmental awards are presented to the graduate in each degree program who has most excelled in scholarship, leadership and service to the department.

Those receiving awards and their respective degree programs were:

Biological Sciences
Anna Gracie Anders of Beebe, Bachelor of Science (BS), biological sciences (pre-professional studies); Kinley Davenport of Bryant, BS, environmental science; Shelby Mosely of Jacksonville, BS, wildlife conservation management; and Kennith Swafford of Beebe, BS, biotechnology; and Hadley Coleman of Jonesboro, BA, environmental studies.

Chemistry and Physics
Anna Gracie Anders of Beebe, Bachelor of Arts (BA), chemistry; ChrisTina Okolo of Batesville, BS, chemistry; Jason Roark of Annapolis, Mo., BSE, chemistry; and Seth Cottengim of Penfield, N.Y., BS, physics.

John “Clay” Heern of Jonesboro and Dongqin Zhang of Paragould, BSE, mathematics; and Samuel Whitmire of Jonesboro, BS, mathematics.

Graduate Programs
Graduate student awards were presented to seven master’s degree students and three doctoral degree candidates.

The master’s degree students and their respective programs were: Emily Donahue of Moscow, Penn., Master of Science (MS), biological sciences; Cathie Butler of Paragould, Master of Arts (MA), biological sciences; Miranda Perry of Cabot, MS, mathematics; Madison Rowe of Beech Grove, MSE, mathematics; Emma Martin of Syosset, N.Y., and Ian Godwin of Herndon, Va., MS, environmental sciences; and Bretton Hale of Doniphan, Mo., MS, molecular biosciences.

The doctoral degree students are Ashley Schulz of Silex, Mo., Ph.D., environmental sciences; and Hong Fong of China and Nirman Nepal of Nepal, Ph.D, molecular biosciences.

# # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related Articles

Athletics Statement Reiterating ADH-Approved Plan and Guidelines for Centennial Bank Stadium

10/30/2020 Courtesy Athletics Media Relations JONESBORO – In support of this week’s joint communication from 11 northeast Arkansas hospitals urging residents of the region to remain diligent in their efforts Read more

Muckensturm To Be Inducted Into A-State’s Ring Of Honor

Football 10/30/2020 2:09:00 PM Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (10/30/20) – Former Arkansas State football All-America standout Jerry Muckensturm is slated to become the newest member of the school's prestigious Ring Read more

Becks Endow Scholarships to Honor Hanrahan, Potts

10/29/2020 JONESBORO – Arkansas State University alumni Buddy and Charlotte Beck have funded endowed scholarships in honor of Dr. Susan Hanrahan, dean of the College of Nursing and Health Professions, Read more

Sun Belt Conference Announces New 2020-21 Men’s & Women’s Hoops Schedules

Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (10/29/20) – On Thursday, the Sun Belt Conference announced updates to both men's and women's basketball league schedules, moving each to 18-game divisional-only slates. With the Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest