Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

ChrisTina Okolo Receives 2020 R.E. Lee Wilson Award

May 19, 2020


JONESBORO – The announcement of the 2020 recipient of the R.E. Lee Wilson Award, a longtime campus tradition at Arkansas State University, took on a special tone this year, as the winner’s name was revealed this evening during a special online presentation.

[embedded content]

The R.E. Lee Wilson Award is Arkansas State University’s highest honor for a graduating student.

Perry Wilson of Little Rock, the award namesake’s great-great-grandson, announced the winning student during a Facebook Live presentation.

“My family and I are honored our name is affiliated with one of Arkansas State University’s longest traditions, that of recognizing its outstanding graduates,” Perry Wilson told the online audience.  “I know my great-great-grandfather would be proud to see the type of students Arkansas State continues to educate.

“It is my pleasure to present the 134th R.E. Lee Wilson Award to ChrisTina Okolo of Batesville.  Please join me in congratulating ChrisTina as the winner of the Wilson Award.  Congratulations, ChrisTina, great job.”

Okolo is a senior chemistry major who has been highly involved in campus life and student volunteer work.

For several years, Wilson has carried out the tradition that calls for a descendent of R.E. Lee Wilson to make the award presentation.  He and Chancellor Kelly Damphousse served as the online hosts for the video premiere, which substitutes this year for the usual private banquet with university representatives and the Wilson Fellows, the A-State alumni group of previous Wilson Award recipients.

The Wilson Award and Distinguished Service Award winners were introduced and recognized during the 87th student honors awards ceremony.  Ordinarily this is the culminating event of Convocation of Scholars at A-State, but the annual celebration was not held this year because of the national pandemic.

R.E. Lee Wilson, a Mississippi County planter and businessman, served on the institution’s Board of Trustees from 1917 until his death in 1933.  The annual Wilson Award presentation began the following year, more than eight decades ago.

“I hope that I’ve just left a legacy of just hard work and trying to make the most of every opportunity that I’ve been given,” Okolo said in her video introduction.  “It’s been a fast ride, but it’s been fun.  And I hope that students can look at me and know that you don’t necessarily have to be involved in so many things.  Just the things that you do put yourself in, just try to give 100%.”

Okolo also is one of six recipients of the Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes exceptional qualities of leadership, involvement and scholarship during the student’s time at Arkansas State.  The recipient of the Wilson Award is the individual judged by the Student Honors Award Selection Committee, which includes campus representatives and previous Wilson Award winners, as the most outstanding among the group of DSA recipients.

In addition to Okolo, the recipients of the 2020 Distinguished Service Awards are Samantha Brainard of Collierville, Tenn.; Sarah Bullington of Bryant; Braelen Hunt of Bergman; Shawna Martin of Gassville; and Tarendeep Thind of White Hall.

The DSA winners, who were featured in pre-recorded profiles prior to the Wilson Award announcement, are recognized as the institution’s most outstanding graduates.  Faculty, staff, advisers to student organizations, and other members of the campus community may submit nominations for the prestigious awards.

Okolo was nominated by Jessica Blackburn, adviser to the Student Philanthropy Council (SPC), and director of foundation and corporate engagement in University Advancement.

“I could not be more happy to have had her as one of the first members of SPC, because she kind of set the bar for what we expect for a lot of our members,” Blackburn said in the introductory profile.  “She is charismatic, she is kind, she really understands what she’s doing when it comes to philanthropy and knowing what it means to be a Red Wolf.”

A December 2019 graduate with a Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry from the College of Sciences and Mathematics, Okolo’s career goal is to become a physician.  The recipient of numerous scholarships on her way to a near perfect grade point, her name was on the Chancellor’s List or Dean’s List every semester.  Extensively involved in undergraduate research, her work has been published in prestigious scientific journals.

She won first place in undergraduate posters in the College of Sciences and Mathematics and the American Physiological Society Undergraduate Research Award in Physiology during [email protected] in 2019.

Okolo, the SPC’s vice president in 2019 after serving as the president in 2018, helped to raise $100,000 for campus groups and projects that the organization helps support. SPC also established the Student Emergency Fund for A-State students who are undergoing temporary financial setbacks.

The DSA and Wilson Award winner also worked alongside the A-State Alumni Association to help create the Emerging Young Alumni Award, recognizing recipients for their professional accomplishments and continued engagement with the university.

The names of Wilson Award winners are permanently listed in a prominent display outside Centennial Hall in the Carl R. Reng Student Union. Previous winners of the award joined to form the Wilson Fellows, a chapter within the A-State Alumni Association.  The Fellows will welcome Okolo into their group with the presentation of a $1,500 scholarship for post-graduate study.

# # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

Chancellor Damphousse Appointed to NCAA Board of Governors

Chancellor Damphousse Appointed to NCAA Board of Governors 12/02/2021 JONESBORO — Arkansas State University Chancellor Kelly Damphousse has been appointed to the NCAA Board of Governors. The highly prestigious appointment to the Read more

A-State Registers Strong Start To Indoor Season At Pitt State

Story Links Results (PDF) PITTSBURG, Kan. (12/4/21) – Young talent shined Friday and Saturday in Arkansas State track and field's season opener at the Crimson and Gold Invitational. On Friday, Read more

Four A-State Players in Double-Figures in 95-82 Win Over UCA

Next Game: at Arkansas - Pine Bluff 12/8/2021 | 7:00 PM 107.9 KFIN  JONESBORO, Ark. (12/4/21) – The Arkansas State men's basketball team had a season-high four players score in Read more

ASU System Trustees Honor Windgate Foundation for Largest Gift in A-State History

12/03/2021 LITTLE ROCK – The Arkansas State University System Board of Trustees today voted to accept a $25 million challenge gift from the Windgate Foundation – the largest donation to Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest