Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Baine Commits Endowment Honoring MPA Program Founder

October 25, 2019


John and Jennifer Baine have their Wolves Up at the new Howl feature near Wilson Hall, where Baine attended classes in the MPA program under Dr. Stanley Vanagunas.

JONESBORO – Recalling his positive experience and the quality education that prepared him for his career and public service, John Baine of El Dorado is endowing a new scholarship at Arkansas State University.

Baine, who completed his Master of Public Administration (MPA) degree in 1995, has committed to give $50,000 to fund a scholarship program to benefit future MPA students. 

At Baine’s request, it will be named the Dr. Stanley Vanagunas Public Administration Scholarship Endowment, in honor of the first director of A-State’s MPA program. 

Vanagunas, emeritus professor of public administration, is now living in Arizona.  He retired in the spring of 2001 after 18 years as a faculty member at Arkansas State University.

Dr. William P. McLean, department chair and associate professor of political science, expressed the university appreciation for the gift.

“We are so pleased that one of our distinguished graduates, Mr. John Baine, has chosen to honor Dr. Vanagunas’ legacy by creating an endowment that will have an impact on our MPA students for decades to come,” he stated.  “As the founding director of Arkansas State’s MPA program, Stan had a unique vision to establish a nationally accredited program that would increase professionalization in public management in Arkansas and the Delta region and also have global reach. 

Baine, a former state representative in the Arkansas General Assembly, also earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting at Arkansas State.  He and his wife Jennifer are dedicated Red Wolves fans.  He is employed as an accountant at Murphy USA in El Dorado.

“Dr. Stanley Vanagunas was a major influence on how I looked at the role and function of government,” Baine recalled.  “I used what he taught me in my years in county government and later in the Arkansas House of Representatives.”

The Vanagunas Scholarship, the first private endowment for a public administration scholarship at A‑State, will be awarded to outstanding students in the graduate-level program.

This is the second endowment gift that Baine has committed at Arkansas State.  The John Baine Scholarship Endowment, fully funded in the summer of 2018, is now generating a scholarship each year for an A-State student from El Dorado (Union County), who is not receiving a Murphy Promise Scholarship to attend college.

Active in the Arkansas State University Alumni Association, Baine currently serves as secretary/treasurer for the organization’s board of directors.

“Stan Vanagunas’ students have gone on to serve as distinguished public servants in Arkansas and around the world.  John is a shining example of Stan’s mentorship,” McLean added.  “John knows as well as anyone the continued need for qualified and dedicated public administrators, and thus we are thankful for his generous gift.  The student scholarships funded by this endowment will help us attract the best and brightest students to public service.”

# # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

A-State Advanced Physical Therapy Women’s Health Residency Granted Candidacy

06/15/2021 JONESBORO — Arkansas State University advanced physical therapy women’s health residency program has been granted candidacy, according to notification from the American Board of Physical Therapy Residency and Fellowship Read more

Caitland Smith Opens Up #RoadToTokyo For A-State

Story Links EUGENE, Ore. (6/18/21) – Caitland Smith opened up the U.S. Olympic Track and Field Team Trials for six athletes associated with the Arkansas State track and field program Read more

Chancellor Damphousse Elected President of Sun Belt Conference

06/16/2021 JONESBORO – Sun Belt Commissioner Keith Gill announced Tuesday that Arkansas State University Chancellor Kelly Damphousse was unanimously elected to serve a two-year term as the President of the Read more

Debate Team Captures Pi Kappa Delta JV Parliamentary National Championship

06/16/2021 JONESBORO — Arkansas State University’s debate team stepped up to win the Pi Kappa Delta Junior Varsity Parliamentary National Championship at the largest national tournament of the season. The victory gives Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest