Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Arkansas Delta Byways Presents 20th Annual Tourism Awards

March 4, 2020


Hanzlik and Museum Staff
Marcel Hanzlik (left), ADB president, presented the annual tourism awards, including the Cultural Heritage Award to the ASU Museum staff (from left) Valerie Ponder, Jill Kary, Marti Allen, Elisabeth Engel and Michelle Friend.

JONESBORO – The 20th annual Delta Awards, recognizing tourism achievement, were presented by Arkansas Delta Byways during the organization’s annual festivities at the Technology Center for the Delta in Wynne.

The event was sponsored by Arkansas Delta Byways with support from the City of Wynne and the Wynne Chamber of Commerce.  Marcel Hanzlik, president of Arkansas Delta Byways, served as master of ceremonies.

The winners of the various tourism awards were:

  • Media Support: KASU – AETN, Ken Burns “Country Music” Promotion, all counties
  • Hospitality: Vicki Trimble, Cross County
  • Entrepreneur: Weston Lewey, Chez Weenie, St. Francis County
  • Tourism Support/Promotional: Madpie’s Tea Room and Shoppes, Clay County
  • Festival/Event: Delta Roots Country Festival, Phillips County
  • Boot Strap: World War I Anniversary Celebration, Hemingway-Pfeiffer Museum and Piggott PACE, Clay County
  • Cultural Heritage: Rockabilly Exhibit, Arkansas State University Museum, Craighead County

ADB presented its “Outstanding Member Award” to Sheila Ward, manager of the Welcome Center at Blytheville.

The “Tourism Person of the Year” award went to Little Rock resident John Gill, author of several books on Arkansas history, former chair of the Arkansas History Commission, and a member of the State Parks, Recreation and Travel Commission.

Arkansas Delta Byways is the nonprofit association recognized by the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism as the official tourism promotion association for 15 counties in Eastern Arkansas.  Member counties are Arkansas, Chicot, Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Drew, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett and St. Francis.

ADB is based on the A-State campus in Jonesboro and receives administrative support through the university’s Arkansas Heritage Sites Office. 

For more details, contact Arkansas Delta Byways, (870) 972-2803.

# # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

Strong Second-Half Start Propels A-State Past Kansas City, 66-55

Next Game: Central Arkansas 12/4/2021 | 4:00 PM ESPN+ 107.9 KFIN JONESBORO, Ark. (11/28/21) – Led by three players scoring in double figures, including junior guard Desi Sills with a Read more

Endowed Joel Gambill Scholarship Highlighted 100th Herald Celebration

11/23/2021 JONESBORO — Retired faculty member Dr. Joel Gambill received a nice surprise when it was announced that a scholarship has been endowed in his name in the School of Read more

Red Wolves Fall In Close 24-22 Contest To Texas State

Justin Manning Game Recap: Football | 11/27/2021 5:31:00 PM Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (11/27/21) – A 48-yard field goal attempt by Blake Grupe fell to the Allison Field turf in Read more

A-State Falls 75-51 To Morehead State

Story Links Box Score JONESBORO, Ark. (11/26/21) – Desi Sills dropped 15 points, with 9 in the second half, but the Arkansas State men's basketball team could not overcome a Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest