Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

A-State’s Meyer and Pascoe Claim Individual Crowns At UCA

September 12, 2020

CONWAY, Ark. (9/12/20) – Bennett Pascoe and Pauline Meyer both took individual titles in Arkansas State cross country’s season opener Saturday morning at the UCA Cross Country Classic in Conway.

A-State’s men placed second with 42 points, while Meyer propelled the women to a dominant first-place team finish with just 19 points.

Pascoe ran a collegiate-best 15:15.3 in the 5K to win, helping A-State to a second-place team finish behind host Central Arkansas. Coleman Wilson placed fifth with a mark of 15:49.7, while Royce Fisher posted a seventh-place finish in 16:04.3 in his A-State debut. Jacob Oury (16:57.0) and Alejandro Vargas (17:18.2) also ran personal-best 5K times en route to finishing 24th and 27th. Newcomer Lexington Hilton ran unattached, placing fourth in 15:43.9.

In the women’s race, Meyer led all runners with a first-place finish in 18:20.3. Sophie Leathers placed third in 18:41.1. Elizabeth Martin placed sixth, earning four points, in 19:08.7, while McKenzie Cornell followed moments later in 19:12.5. Freshman Ellie Albrecht rounded out A-State’s top five in ninth place in 19:31.9.

Heidi Hauptman (16th – 20:12.2), Sarah Trammel (17th – 20:13.0), Katharina Schmidt (19th – 20:23.6), Megan Adams (21st – 20:30.7), Madison Grimm (25th – 20:53.5) and Emily Efurd (30th – 21:44.5) rounded out the rest of A-State’s women on the day.

The Red Wolves will be back in action on Saturday, Oct. 3, traveling to Louisville, Kentucky, for the “Live in Lou” Classic.

For the latest on the A-State track and field program, follow @AStateTrack on Twitter and @Arkansas_State_Track on Instagram, while also liking the team’s Facebook page at


Men’s Team Results (5K)
1. Central Arkansas – 27 points
2. Arkansas State – 42
3. Little Rock – 63
4. Philander Smith – 105

Men’s Individual Results
1. Bennett Pascoe, 15:15.3* (1 point); 5. Coleman Wilson, 15:49.7* (4 points); 7. Royce Fisher, 16:04.3 (6 points); 24. Jacob Oury, 16:57.0* (15 points); 27. Alejandro Vargas, 17:18.2* (16 points)
Unattached Red Wolves: 4. Lexington Hilton, 15:43.9

Women’s Team Results (5K)
1. Arkansas State – 19
2. Central Arkansas – 37
3. Little Rock – 80
4. Philander Smith – 120  

Women’s Individual Results

1. Pauline Meyer, 18:20.3 (1 point); 3. Sophie Leathers, 18:41.1 (2 points); 6. Elizabeth Martin, 19:08.7 (4 points); 7. McKenzie Cornell, 19:12.5 (5 points); 9. Ellie Albrecht, 19:31.9 (7 points); 16. Heidi Hauptman, 20:12.2; 17. Sarah Trammel, 20:13.0*; 19. Katharina Schmidt, 20:23.6; 21. Megan Adams, 20:30.7; 25. Madison Grimm, 20:53.5; Emily Efurd, 21:44.5

* – Personal-best

Print Friendly Version

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

Hilton Breaks Own 10K Record At NCAA Championships Saturday

Story Links TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (11/20/21) – Just over a week after shattering the school record in the men's 10K, Arkansas State's Lexington Hilton broke his own mark on Saturday with Read more

A-State’s Hilton Set For NCAA Championships Saturday

Story Links ESPNU Live Results JONESBORO, Ark. (11/19/21) – For the second consecutive season, and just the fourth time in program history, an Arkansas State cross country runner will compete Read more

A-State’s Meyer Named SBC Women’s Runner of the Week

Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (10/6/21) – After running a sub-17 minute 5K at the Chile Pepper Festival on Friday, Arkansas State's Pauline Meyer garnered Sun Belt Conference Women's Cross Country Read more

Red Wolves Ready For Chile Pepper Festival

Story Links Live Results Live Stream JONESBORO, Ark. (9/30/21) – Looking to continue its strong start to the season, the Arkansas State cross country teams trek up to the northwest Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest