Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

A-State’s Grupe Lands on 2020 Lou Groza Award Watch List

July 22, 2020

Football 7/22/2020 1:17:00 PM

JONESBORO, Ark. (7/22/20) – A 2019 Lou Groza Award semifinalist, Arkansas State junior kicker Blake Grupe was announced Wednesday by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission as one of 30 FBS players on the prestigious award’s watch list for the 2020 season.
Grupe is one of four all-time A-State players to appear on the place-kicking award’s watch list, along with Brian Davis (2012 and 2013), Josh Arauco (2008 and 2009) and Jeff Caldwell (1994).  All four players were semifinalists at least one year during their career, while Arauco was a finalist in 2008.
Grupe was named 2019 First Team All-Sun Belt Conference after setting the school record for single-season points by kicking with 110, which were the second most in the league and ranked 13th in the nation as well.  His points total also ranked as the second most scored in A-State history by any player, regardless of position.
Additionally, Grupe ranked second in the Sun Belt in points per game among all players, and his 8.5 average was the 26th highest in the country.  He made 19-of-22 field goals for an .864 percentage that led the conference and ranked 16th in the FBS.
The two-time Sun Belt Conference Player of the Week will enter his junior campaign with 187 career points by kicking that are the fifth most in school history.  Grupe has also has made 88 career extra points and 33 career field goals for the fifth and sixth most, respectively, in school history.
The Sedalia, Mo., native has been named 2020 Preseason First Team All-Sun Belt Conference by multiple publications as well, including Athlon Sports, Phil Steele’s and College Football News.
Grupe earned his bachelor’s degree in business administration in the spring of 2020 and is currently pursuing his Master of Business Administration with a concentration in healthcare administration.
Twenty Lou Groza Award semifinalists will be announced Thursday, Nov. 5.  A panel of more than 100 FBS head coaches, SIDs, media members, former Groza finalists and current NFL kickers will select the top three finalists, which will be named on Tuesday, Nov. 24.  The same group will select the national winner, who will be revealed Thursday, Dec. 10, during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN.
The Lou Groza Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football.  Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935.
Season tickets for A-State’s 2020 campaign are currently on sale through the A-State Ticket Office, located at First National Bank Arena’s lower red entrance.  They are available by calling 870-972-2781 or going online to

Print Friendly Version

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related Articles

A-State Football Adds Five to 2021 Recruiting Class

Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (2/3/21) – After signing 15 players in the early signing period, the Arkansas State football team added five players Wednesday to its 2021 recruiting class under Read more

Signing Day Sit Down With Coach Butch Jones Set For Wednesday On Facebook

Football 2/2/2021 2:47:00 PM Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (2/2/21) – Fans will have the opportunity to learn more about the 2021 football signing class and interact with new head coach Read more

A-State Football Names Heckendorf Offensive Coordinator

Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (1/8/21) – Arkansas State head football coach Butch Jones announced Friday that Keith Heckendorf has been named the Red Wolves' offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach. "Coach Heckendorf Read more

Limegrover Named A-State Offensive Line Coach, Run Game Coordinator

Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (1/8/21) – Arkansas State head football coach Butch Jones announced Friday that Matt Limegrover has been named the Red Wolves' offensive line coach and run game Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest