Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

A-State Theatre to Present ‘Everybody,’ April 16-18, in Online Format

April 10, 2021


JONESBORO – Arkansas State University Theatre will continue its 2020-21 season with “Everybody” by Branden Jacobs-Jenkins. This modern riff on the 15th-century morality play, “Everyman,” follows “Everybody” as they journey through life’s greatest mystery — the meaning of living.

The production is the first collaboration between the Department of Theatre and ASU-TV to produce a broadcasted play.  Students in the creative media production program have been attending rehearsals with theatre students to produce a broadcast-quality performance for audiences.  The collaboration helps fulfill a goal of continuing to broaden students’ educational experience despite limitations brought on by the pandemic.

Performances, to be presented online in a pay-per-view format, will be available Friday through Sunday, April 16-18.

The cast includes Caelon Colbert of Little Rock, Skyla Conger of Haskell, Kori Denison of Batesville, Carson Horton of Batesville, Kylah Hood of Jonesboro, Trey Moore of Mountain Home, and Madison Stewart of Trumann. The cast also includes instructor of theatre, DayDay Robinson, as well as local talent, Allison Wilkes.  

The production is directed by Virginia Hirsch, instructor of theatre. Reilly Heffer of Little Rock is the assistant director. Jeff McLaughlin, assistant professor of theatre, serves as the scenic designer.

Associate professor of theatre, Claire Abernathy, serves as the costume designer. Caisa Sanburg, assistant professor of theatre, is the lighting and sound designer, along with Katelyn Stanton of Trumann as the associate lighting designer, and Clay Bures of Little Rock as the assistant sound designer. Properties master is Alec Lazarini of Memphis.

The stage manager is Claire Thomas of Batesville, and assistant stage managers are Alexander Jones of Russellville and Allison Peavy of Collierville, Tenn.

The light board operator is Gavin Wilson of Berryville, and the sound board operator is Michael Joseph of Poplar Bluff, Mo. Spotlight operators are Christian Armstrong of Russellville and Hayley Murry of Beebe. Dressers are Lukas Lawley of Little Rock and Fernanda Posadas of Sherwood.

The documentarian for the production is Samuel Scott of Flint, Mich., and the publicity manager is Kit Vincent of Poplar Bluff. The house manager is Grace Dial of Paragould.

All students in the cast and crew are theatre majors except for Bures, who is also a chemistry major.

Parents are cautioned “Everybody” contains language that may be upsetting to younger viewers.

Tickets for “Everybody” can be purchased online here or by visiting and searching for “Arkansas State University Theatre.” Prices are $7 for A-State students/staff/faculty and $10 for the general public.

# # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

Top Journalism, Mass Communication Students Inducted into Kappa Tau Alpha

JONESBORO —Ten Arkansas State University students were recently inducted into the Kappa Tau Alpha (KTA) honor society.  The ceremony was conducted during Convocation of Scholars via Zoom due to Covid-19.KTA Read more

A-State’s Klutts, Nash Sweep SBC Weekly Baseball Honors

Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (5/11/21) – After a stellar weekend that included a series win over (RV) Georgia Southern, the Arkansas State baseball team swept both Sun Belt Conference weekly Read more

Rugby Standout Nominated for Collegiate Player of the Year

JONESBORO — TJ van Rensburg, a sophomore scrumhalf for Arkansas State University’s rugby club team, is a nominee for the 2021 Rudy Scholz Award. The Scholz Award honors the best Read more

Student with Triple Major Selected for Fulbright Grant to Teach in Spain

05/07/2021 JONESBORO – Arkansas State University student Rachel French has been offered a grant from the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board to teach Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest