Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

A-State is Recipient of NYIT’S Riland Medal of Public Service

May 17, 2020


JONESBORO – New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine (NYITCOM) at Arkansas State University has announced it will honor four organizations and one individual with the Riland Medal of Public Service at the college’s inaugural graduation ceremony Thursday, May 21, according to Dean Shane Speights, D.O.

Arkansas State University, the City of Jonesboro, NEA Baptist Health System, and St. Bernards Medical Center, along with Barbara Ross-Lee, D.O., the founding dean of NYITCOM at A-State, will receive the award.

“It’s a privilege to accept this honor on behalf of the entire team at Arkansas State University that worked for years to make NYITCOM at A-State a reality,” said A-State Chancellor Kelly Damphousse.  “The impact upon the lives of our students and our community from having a medical school located on our campus is just starting to be understood.

“We know this will be a generational impact to our Delta region, bringing more health care options to our citizens, and uplifting the academic relationships of our researchers, faculty and students, with exciting opportunities.  We can’t wait to discover what lies ahead for both institutions,” Damphousse added.

The Riland Medal is awarded to individuals and organizations who have made significant contributions to the enhancement of the health care workforce, medical education, community advocacy, osteopathic philosophy, research, academic leadership, and graduate medical education. 

It is named in honor of New York Institute of Technology’s founding trustee, W. Kenneth Riland, D.O., whose efforts, together with former New York Gov. Nelson Rockefeller, contributed to the establishment of NYITCOM’s first campus on Long Island, N.Y.

The five inaugural Riland Medal recipients are being honored for their efforts in launching Arkansas’ first osteopathic medical school; NYITCOM opened its doors in the renovated Wilson Hall on the A-State campus in 2016.

“Without the support of our Riland Medal recipients, we simply would not be here today,” Speights said. “We are honored to recognize the numerous contributions our Riland Medal recipients have made and continue to make in support of our efforts to positively impact health care and health education in Arkansas and the Mississippi Delta region. We can’t thank them enough for all they’ve done.”

# # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

Chancellor Damphousse Appointed to NCAA Board of Governors

Chancellor Damphousse Appointed to NCAA Board of Governors 12/02/2021 JONESBORO — Arkansas State University Chancellor Kelly Damphousse has been appointed to the NCAA Board of Governors. The highly prestigious appointment to the Read more

A-State Registers Strong Start To Indoor Season At Pitt State

Story Links Results (PDF) PITTSBURG, Kan. (12/4/21) – Young talent shined Friday and Saturday in Arkansas State track and field's season opener at the Crimson and Gold Invitational. On Friday, Read more

Four A-State Players in Double-Figures in 95-82 Win Over UCA

Next Game: at Arkansas - Pine Bluff 12/8/2021 | 7:00 PM 107.9 KFIN  JONESBORO, Ark. (12/4/21) – The Arkansas State men's basketball team had a season-high four players score in Read more

ASU System Trustees Honor Windgate Foundation for Largest Gift in A-State History

12/03/2021 LITTLE ROCK – The Arkansas State University System Board of Trustees today voted to accept a $25 million challenge gift from the Windgate Foundation – the largest donation to Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest