Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

A-State Bubba Barnett Intercollegiate Set to Begin Monday

October 13, 2019

JONESBORO, Ark. (10/13/19) – The Wayne Wolfe Collegiate-Amateur was played Sunday at RidgePointe Country Club as part of the 24th annual Arkansas State Bubba Barnett Intercollegiate golf tournament, which will include 13 teams from 10 different states and officially begin play Monday, Oct. 14.

This is the third year the tournament will be played as the Bubba Barnett Intercollegiate after previously being known as the Red Wolves Intercollegiate. It was renamed in honor of Barnett, who, along with the late Wayne Wolfe, was instrumental in starting the annual tournament in 1997. Barnett, a long-time supporter of Arkansas State golf and junior golf programs, has served on the tournament committee since its creation and acts as the tournament’s director.

Deane Pappas and Matt Willey won the 12th annual Wayne Wolfe College-Am championship. The duo played alongside A-State’s players Julien Sale and Adam Thorp and shot a single-round 57. Local amateurs from the tournament’s major sponsors were paired with different student-athletes from the competing teams. Today’s sponsors who were the top finishers were recognized and received awards at a tournament banquet honoring Wolfe.

Included among the teams making up this year’s Arkansas State Bubba Barnett Intercollegiate are Arkansas State, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Bethune-Cookman (individual), Northern Iowa, Oklahoma Christian, Omaha, Oral Roberts, South Dakota, Southeastern Louisiana, Stephen F. Austin, UT Arlington, Utah Valley, Valparaiso and Western Carolina.

The two-day tournament will officially begin the Monday at 8:15 a.m. at RidgePointe Country Club with the first round. The second round will immediately follow the first on Monday, and the third round is set to begin at 8:30 a.m. Tuesday.

Arkansas State owns nine Bubba Barnett Intercollegiate championships, including each of the last four seasons. Senior Zan Luka Stirn, one of six A-State players who have won the tournament all-time, will look to defend his individual title from a year ago.

The Red Wolves will be playing their fourth tournament of the season. The squad is coming off a fifth-place finish at the Maridoe Intercollegiate, where it defeated No. 8 Washington.

Live scoring will be used throughout all three rounds and can be viewed on Tournament results will also be posted on, the official web site of A-State Athletics. For the latest on A-State men’s golf, follow on Twitter (@AStateMGolf), Facebook (/AStateGolf) and Instagram (astatemensgolf).

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

Julien Sale Earns Sun Belt Conference Golfer of the Week Honors

Courtesy: Travis Clayton | Arkansas State Julien Sale Earns Sun Belt Conference Golfer of the Week Honors Courtesy: ArkansasState Published: October 31, 2019 JONESBORO, Ark. (10/31/19) – For the second time this Read more

Red Wolves Take Second at Steelwood Collegiate Invitational

LOXLEY, Ala. (10/27/19) – Closing out the fall schedule, the Arkansas State men’s golf team finished second at the Steelwood Collegiate Invitational at Steelwood Country Club in Loxley, Ala.   Read more

A-State Sets Multiple Records Winning Fourth-Straight Bubba Barnett Intercollegiate Title

JONESBORO, Ark. (10/15/19) – Led by co-medalists Zan Luka Stirn and Julien Sale, the Arkansas State men’s golf team won the Bubba Barnett Intercollegiate for the fourth consecutive year behind Read more

A-State Men’s Golf Finishes Fifth at Maridoe Intercollegiate

CARROLLTON, Texas (10/8/19) – The Arkansas State men’s golf team claimed a top-five finish at the Maridoe Intercollegiate after shooting a third-round 309 (+21) to claim fifth place Tuesday at Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest