Request Line: (870) 277-1080 [email protected]
Text Your Gift to KLEK1 to 44-321 LEARN MORE

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

41st Annual Convocation of Scholars Starts Monday

March 31, 2019


JONESBORO – The 41st annual Convocation of Scholars at Arkansas State University will feature a number of events recognizing outstanding students and faculty during the month of April.

The Convocation of Scholars events will culminate with the presentation of the R. E. Lee Wilson Citizenship Award and the Distinguished Service Awards at a campus ceremony on Thursday, April 25.  The Wilson Award and DSAs are A-State’s top awards for graduating students.

The ninth annual “[email protected]: A Symposium of Research, Scholarship and Creativity,” involves scores of students in scholarly and artistic presentations Monday through Wednesday, April 15-17, in the Carl R. Reng Student Union.  Details are online.

Faculty Honors Convocation will be Tuesday, April 9, beginning at 2 p.m. in Centennial Hall of the Reng Student Union.  Recipients of the Faculty Achievement Awards in teaching, scholarship, professional service and academic advising will be announced, and retiring faculty members will be recognized for their service to Arkansas State.

The 25th annual Delta Symposium, an academic conference with this year’s theme, “Dislocation and the Delta,” will run Wednesday through Saturday, April 10-13, concluding with the Roots Music Festival in Jonesboro’s City Water and Light Park on April 14.  The symposium schedule is online.

[email protected], the Faculty Honors Convocation, and Delta Symposium are open to the public.

The Excellence in Diversity awards reception will start at 6 p.m., Thursday, April 18, conducted by the Office of Diversity and Community Engagement.

Academic units have scheduled recognition ceremonies as follows:

  • College of Agriculture banquet (agriculture and technology awards), 6:30 p.m., Tuesday, April 23;
  • Neil Griffin College of Business honors banquet, 6:30 p.m., Monday, April 8;
  • College of Education and Behavioral Science honors banquet, 6 p.m., Monday, April 8;
  • College of Engineering and Computer Science banquet, 6:30 p.m., Monday, April 1;
  • College of Liberal Arts and Communication honors awards ceremony, 5:30 p.m., Tuesday, April 9;
  • College of Nursing and Health Professions honors banquet, 6 p.m., Monday, April 22;
  • College of Sciences and Mathematics honors reception, 5:30 p.m., Thursday, April 18;
  • Department of Communication honors banquet, 6 p.m., Wednesday, April 10;
  • Department of Media honors banquet, 6:30 p.m., Thursday, April 4; and
  • Undergraduate Studies honors reception, 2 p.m., Thursday, April 25.

Other scheduled recognition events are: Beta Gamma Sigma induction, 5:30 p.m., April 8; Kappa Tau Alpha induction, 5:45 p.m., April 10; Music Department Honors Recital, 7:30 p.m., April 8; Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society initiation banquet, 6 p.m., April 15; and Mossie Richmond-Afak Haydar International Student Scholarship awards dinner, 5:30 p.m., April 11.

Many of the awards ceremonies are ticketed.  For details about specific events, one may call the respective department or consult the Convocation of Scholars website and university calendar.

                                                                # # #

Original article source: | Article may or may not reflect the views of KLEK 102.5 FM or The Voice of Arkansas Minority Advocacy Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Articles

ASBTDC to Offer Newport Consulting Session

10/19/2021 JONESBORO —The Arkansas Small Business and Technology Development Center (ASBTDC) at Arkansas State University is offering a small business consulting session during November in Newport. The session will be held Read more

Second-Half Surge Powers Scarlet Past Black In Scrimmage

Story Links JONESBORO, Ark. (10/20/21) – Scarlet outscored Black 50-31 in the second half on Wednesday night at First National Bank Arena en route to a 73-63 victory in Arkansas Read more

A-State to Participate in Annual Great Central U.S. ShakeOut Earthquake Drill

10/19/2021 JONESBORO – Arkansas State University will participate in the annual Great Central U.S. ShakeOut earthquake preparedness drill on Thursday, Oct. 21. The university will test its emergency alert system with Read more

A-State Third After 36 Holes at Ozarks National Invitational

Story Links HOLLISTER, Mo. (10/19/21) – With two of three rounds played at Ozarks National, the Arkansas State women's golf team is third among 15 teams at the Ozarks National Read more


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Your Community Radio Station is possible thanks to this supporter!  Become an underwriter.

Pin It on Pinterest